Why “Hot Tea And The Empty Seat”?

145241156702437887_l4kdckJd_c

Lately, at this point in my life when work comes daily and life is throwing me curve balls every second, each day can get so busy I can overlook the most important things. Anyone feeling my pain? So often I go through my day, maybe praying once or twice, not really acknowledging God’s presence until I need something.

But then.. One day in my favorite little coffee shop as I stared at the empty seat in front of me, something deep inside spoke to me. It was no loud banter. Just a quiet still voice. Immanuel. God with me. In me. Right now. All the time. Through the mundane and the exciting, the highs and the lows. He, my Savior and Comforter, my friend and Provider, Jesus, King of Kings longs for me to enjoy, talk, and experience life with Him through it all. He is with me everyday sitting across from me in that empty seat at this coffee shop as I sip my African Sunset Red Tea. He is with you at the office when you feel like you can’t get anything done. He is with you while you’re in the lunch room or in the lab. He is with you as you cry on your bed because your significant other left you. He is with you while you study in the library. He is with you in the passenger seat as you’re driving home from a college you feel so alone at. He is here. And He is ready for a relationship. A close, never-leave-My-side, Ill-be-with-you-always relationship.

Do we pay Him any notice?

So as I sat, staring at that empty seat, His presence washed over me and it was as if I could almost see Him smiling at me. His ever-loving eyes piercing my soul… And He stretches out His hand.

What am I daily doing with Him? Do I invite Him to sit with me, chat for hours and tell Him all about my troubles, fears, excitement? Or do I ignore Him and finish reading my emails.. eat.. and leave?

But even if that were the case, the next day when I arrive to enjoy my favorite tea, He is there..

In that empty seat.

My prayer for you and I is that we recognize, accept, and interact with Jesus on a daily basis and enjoy life in deep and close fellowship with Him. This is what He desires. It’s all about a relationship.

Daily song: Draw Me Nearer by Meredith Andrews

Reply to what ya think..

