His ability > Our ability

It is goooood to be back.

I haven’t been able to blog in a while due to the excessive excitement, planning, & creating that wedding planning entails. Not to mention, I’ve moved once, helped Joe move in to our new house which we have painted and furnished, and have been reading as many marriage books I can get my hands on. But graciously, God has given me a few quiet moments alone in my favorite coffee shop to sit and bask in His glory. And catch up on sharing with you guys.

Ephesians 3:20-21 says, “Now to him who by the power that is working within us IS ABLE to do FAR BEYOND all that we ask or think,
to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.”
(capitalizing mine)

He is able.

Those three words give me such peace and thankfulness.

Sometimes, I can’t even completely finish one small list of to-dos. Yes, I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. (Phil. 4:13) But on my own, I am and cannot do anything. (John 15:5)

This comes from someone who strives to “do” and do well. Perfectly. About a year ago, I found myself in a very legalistic mindset. After being a Christian for almost eight years, I found myself seeking acceptance from other through what I did or did not do. Multiple bible studies, teaching, helping, working, volunteering; all day, every day. Now, understand that none of these things are wrong! God wants us to have a selfless, serving heart. But it becomes a problem when we replace “doing” with “loving” or “resting”. My cup was dry and I was looking in empty pots to fill me up, not the source of Living Water.

It didn’t take very long until God whipped me back in to shape. I was almost completely drained dry when God clearly told me to REST.

I realized that instead of enjoying Him, loving on Him, talking with Him, and getting to know Him, I was trying to get close to God by working for His favor.

My focus was on myself, not God.

I learned this: When our focus is taken off of ourselves and set on God, it is then we naturally WANT to love, serve, and help others!

We don’t have to work for God’s acceptance or love. It’s already there!
Praise Jesus that WHILE we were still sinners, Christ died for us! (Romans 5:8)

I don’t have to “do” anything. Why you ask?

Because HE is able!!!! Which takes us back to our main verse.
God desires our hearts. He is able to take care of the rest. He is also able to change us, remake us, and make us more like Him. He is able to do anything even beyond our wildest dreams! He is able. He is able when we are not.

When we feel like we can’t go on, can’t ace the test, can’t afford these bills, we must look to Him!!! He is able!

We can’t run this race on our own. If we try, we will only get too tired carrying our burdens, and fall on our faces right before the finish line.

We must rely on His strength, His ability, replace our heavy burdens for His light load. (matt. 11:30)

He is able, beloved!

Matthew 11:28-30
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke on you and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.
For my yoke is easy to bear, and my load is not hard to carry.”

He is able to do all things. Whatever it may be that you are struggling with, I can completely assure you that He IS ABLE to do FAR BEYOND all that we ask or think! All for your good and His glory!

~Katie

2 thoughts on “His ability > Our ability

  1. It’s been an absolute joy watching you grow in the Lord, Katie. Thank you for the “devotional” this morning. I loved it!!

Reply to what ya think..

