Confessions of a Know It All

Confession #1 I don’t know everything.
Surprise. I mean, wow, who would have thought.
It wasn’t until a short while ago that I had it all together. Or so I thought!

Throughout the years of being a Christian, I somehow learned to wear a mask. I was taught the pretty little lie that Christians should have it all together. “You need to hide your sins, don’t let anyone see you fall, and always be happy! Just smile and wave boys.”

That’s an ugly lie straight from the Liar himself.

Moving on.

God doesn’t call us to be perfect.

This may not be any kind of revelation to you but it was a newsflash in my face. It was a wake up call.

Actually, He said that His strength is made perfect in our weakness (2 cor 12:9). So on the days when you end up wearing dirty jeans, your hair has no volume, your husband works late, and your kids are biting one another, you and I can be confident that His power is enough for us.

When we are empty, He is full!

When we are a hot mess, He is perfectly in control.

Thank You Jesus for this truth!

Let’s stop believing the lies that Christians are supposed to:
1. have it all together
2. know it all
3. and NEVER show our true feelings.

I believe women especially are hindered by these lies because we’re being influenced by this ‘be perfect’ culture instead of transforming it ourselves.

As much as I like to think, I will never have the perfect pinterest house or the precious children who never spit on things and pee on couches (an experience I wish I could forget).
This just ain’t happenin’.

On a side note that we probably know all too well… Girls, let’s stop telling ourselves that other women actually have this. I believed this lie for years. That, somehow, everyone but me knows how to sew, raise their children to act like saints by the age of two, and have hair-sprayed perfect hair every day. It’s just not truth! No one has it all together. That is encouraging to me. I’m not saying that I am happy that we are all hot messes but what a beautiful reminder that there is only One who is perfect!

God is perfect. We don’t have to be!

He sees our messy hearts and loves us more than ever.

His mercy and love cover our mess.

Just a few mornings ago, God spoke to me about throwing away this perfect facade that only stresses me out. Right after I told him, “Yeah! I got this! Let’s do it God! I don’t have to have it all together, as long as I am depending on You…”, I hear a knock at the door.

Oh, it was just my handsome husband and his co-worker stopping by for lunch. Panic mode. My hair is in a knotted wet mess from the shower two minutes ago and I haven’t even thought about lunch. I was more than elated to see my sweet husband, please do not get me wrong (Joe reading this).

I was stuck saying, “Well, here is some, uh, stale Oreos and lunch meat, go wild!”

My husband and his friend left with their bellies full. Not because I’m Betty Crocker who had a three course meal waiting while wearing pearls but because God provides when we can’t. Lesson #1 learned and out of the way.

The enemy knows our weakness and uses them to his advantage.
If. we. let. him.
He is not in control and we have to speak this truth into our hearts on a daily basis!

On my not so good days, I am a horrible perfectionist and a control freak. (This is probably why I do not do well with airplanes and a sink full of dishes.)

Here is the good part.

God, the All Powerful One, also knows my weaknesses. He calls us to praise Him because it’s nothing He can’t handle!

Confession #1 I don’t know it all and I don’t have it all together.

Guess what? That’s fine with me!

Convincing myself and others that I do have it all together is exhausting, self-centered and does not bring glory to God. We need to remember this.

I have a husband who loves and supports me more than anything and a God who is in control of every little detail and is by my side every step of the way even when my house is a wreck and the lawn is so scary that it probably ate the neighbor’s dog.

The point I’m trying to make is that we don’t have to pretend anymore.
I don’t have to pretend anymore.

No expectations. No mask.

Beloved, you can live freely! He died to set you free.

For freedom Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not be subject again to the yoke of slavery.
{Galatians 5:1}

Let’s enjoy this freedom, truly live it out, and share it with others who are enslaved by this seemingly sweet but deadly lie.

I would love to hear your stories of how God is changing your life!

In Christ,

-Katie

20130827-103516.jpg

Photo credited to http://m.pinterest.com/pin/103231016431223977/

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Know It All

  1. Katie, It makes me think of the Mandisa song….What If We Were Real? Some of the Lyrics are….
    I’m tired of saying everything I feel like I’m supposed to say, I’m tired of smiling all the time I want to through the mask away……

  2. Katie, I re-read this today and this is exactly what the Lord has shown me as I’ve been going through the Gideon Bible Study!!! I am weak and I am not perfect and I don’t have to be!! He, alone is strong and perfect. He wants to show off in my weaknesses!!

Reply to what ya think..

