Floods, Planes, & Dramamine

Since when did life become so busy and weekends so short?

In the past two months, I have been out of the country once and have boarded a plane multiple times for family reunions and other trips.

Life is busy. Especially the married life. So all you singles, enjoy sleeping in and not having to do laundry five times a day (that may be abnormal) and constantly sweeping the floors. I’m not complaining. I love it and wouldn’t trade it for anything. But life is crazy and darn good at throwing curve balls when we least expect it.

I mentioned earlier that I have boarded a plane a few times in the past two months. Once to the Dominican Republic to celebrate being married, the other to Pennsylvania for my husband’s family reunion, and the last to Colorado for a nice trip. Yes, during the flooding. It was a nice wet trip. Oh, and my first flight ever was this past February to the island of the Bahamas where my (now) husband proposed and we almost died coming back to the states. Pretty somewhat normal trips, right? Here’s the kicker..

I have a terrifying fear of flying on planes.

I have a fear that Dramamine and a mini pack of pretzels cannot help to overcome.

Flying back from the Bahamas, we were awoken to a ear-ringing popping noise coming from the plane. It shook and the lights flashed on and off. Meanwhile, it was storming and lightning right outside those plastic windows. You could say that I was scared but you could also just glance at my huge eyes and white knuckled grip on the chair in front of me and know exactly how I was feeling at that moment. I’ll never forget everyone else’s faces while this was all going down. Nothing. Not even a slight look of concernment. I’ll never forget the man’s face to the right of us. He was actually probably scared of my red face and sobbing noises, not by the fact that we were all about to die.

Good news. We didn’t die. Although, I will say that any hope I had of ever flying on a plane calmly again definitely crashed and burned.

Thus, conceived and born was my fear of flying.

Since then, I have boarded a plane nine times and it hasn’t gotten any easier for me. For example, the last plane we flew on should of been nicknamed “Turbulence Queen”. This was the second plane we had to board since the first one had brakes that didn’t work. Awesome.

Fear grips the soul and turns us all into weenies.

I am quite frankly tired of fear and I’m ready and open for God to do an amazing work in me.

I’ve decided to take a few weeks and write about fear. The why’s, the what’s, and the how in the world’s do we overcome our fear.

Be encouraged, follow me as I lay out my story, share it with others, and be open to God healing and dealing with your fears.

“For God did not give us a Spirit of fear but of power and love and self-control.” -2 Timothy 1:7

-K

20130920-083259.jpg

Reply to what ya think..

