~Running on Empty

Today is one of those days. Ya feel me?

The sun is shining, the autumn air is a brisk 70 degrees, the birds are singing their joyful tunes.. All is perfect in the world.. Then there is me. I’m half awake, jolting around like a chicken with its head cut of literally running on fumes. My mind is filled with about 89 different things, any woman would understand. Multitasking is our thing. We can put on makeup, get in a quick devo, study for an exam, make a few appointments, and text our husbands the to-do list all while driving. We can go, go, go and not skip a beat. Throw a few kids in the mix and you’re in a whole new ball game.

But then there is that day when you get benched. God really just forces us to… Stop.

Sometimes He does it in a sweet way but other times, because we ignore His silent pleas to slow down, He brings everything at a halt.

For example, my morning started out like any other glorious morning. For whatever reason, I had been in some sort of funk the past couple days. Little did I know, today was the day it would all come to a head.

My husband was off to work so I made him a quick breakfast. Kissing goodbye, it was time to start the day. I had a three different appointments back to back all on different sides of town. Long story short, I went to an eye exam which took an hour too long. I learned I needed to pay a not-so-small sum of money since the sweet little desk lady wouldn’t take my insurance even though I was covered. Bless her heart. Since I didn’t have my debit card, I started to panic. This was the third appointment I had to make with these people and I kind of need to see! I think it’s just one of those important things in life. I had 91 bucks in my pocket. (God is cool like that). Half of it came out of no where. (God is really cool like that).

After the lady pulled the money from my non-willing hands, I left and decided to get gas since I had been running on fumes all morning. Too bad the closest gas station didn’t take cash. While walking (possibly stomping by that point) back to my car, some young boy driving a white SUV with his dad or gramps in the passenger seat, came zooming towards me. Uhh. Apparently the kid wasn’t paying attention to this lady in the bright coral pants innocently walking back to her vehicle. He was too busy learning which peddle is the break I guess. Good thing he figured that one out real quick. I would have been pretty mad if my new boots would of gotten smashed. I gave him the evil eye nontheless. Also, the man behind me might of heard me cursing his driving ability. Oops. It happens, okay! I know you’ve done it before! Needless to say, my world was ending. I can be a bit dramatic.

On the way home, I was starting to tear up. I hope you understand why. I think you would of too. It was in that moment of frustration, God nudged me to turn on the radio and focus on what I’m thankful for. My human side wanted to be mad and heated, but God knew I needed refreshment.

I had briefly read, this morning, a verse in Lamentations that stuck but I wasn’t sure why. It was at that moment, listening to praise music about Jesus being our closest friend, the verse came back to the front of my mind.

“The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”
-Lamentations 3:22,23

His mercies are NEW.. EVERY day!

GREAT is His faithfulness to us!!

The steadfast LOVE the Father has for us NEVER ceases!

When we are having a bad day and everything seems to be going wrong and we are stuck on doing it all on our own, God speaks up and refreshes us. He whispers into our hearts and we are renewed.

I pray that we never miss His voice! Life is too hectic and frustrating to be going, going, going all the time without relying on the ONE who is with us when we are running in these never ending circles.

I started focusing on the good. For one, my car is still running somehow. Two, my husband has a blessed job in which God always provides and sustains us so I shouldn’t worry that I am half broke. God is bigger than your financial problems! Three, it’s a beautiful day and I am free! The list goes on.

I learned (and am always learning) that the mercy and grace shown to us by our Loving Father NEVER ENDS.

Beloved, His grace is new every day!

He is never running on low or empty!

He is never far away or too busy for you. He has the ability to turn your messed up day into one of the best days of your life! Press into Him!

He is our ever present help in time of need! {Psalm 46:1} And for that, I am so thankful! He can handle all of my sassiness and frustration when my day goes downhill. He is able!

I can’t tell you how many times I have messed up. When my head is hanging low, I hear His voice and look up at Him. There He is with a giant handful of mercy and grace! Despite my sin and failure! What love He has!

So, if you find your tank running low and you are barely getting by, call out to the One who is full. Full of love, provision, and new mercies every single minute and every single day.

Thank Him for that! He is there with you, He has never left, friend!

K

20131009-132848.jpg

Reply to what ya think..

