~A Challenge to Let Go

“We all claimed God as our God, but we had been serving lesser things.”
-Kelly Minter

If you are reading this right now, I want you to find a piece of paper and pen and get ready..

This is going to be a little different than what we’re used to. The past few weeks, the Lord has been speaking to me in different ways than usual. So, instead of you reading a few paragraphs of my ramblings, this is going to get you thinking. It’s going to challenge you to look deep inside you and ask yourself some important questions that I bet you either rarely never or have ever asked yourself.

I have been studying through a bible study for the past few weeks about modern day idols and the ones that we serve. You’re probably thinking, “Uh, yeah I know about gold cows and some other statue that people worship. What does that have to do with anything?” But, statues and gold calves aren’t the only idols people seem to get attached to. You see, an idol can be a person. It can be an addiction or it can even be something good.

If it stops you from getting closer to God, it needs to go. What is your “it”?

An idol is anything that takes the place of God in your life. It is something that you put before Him. It’s a false god. We place it high above all else in our lives because we think it will deliver what we lack but in the end, we are as empty as when we first started craving.

“I am The Lord your God…except for me there is no Savior.” -Hosea 13:4

We have to be real. In order for this challenge to mean anything or have any influence on you, you have to be real with yourself and God. A lot of the time we don’t even realize that we place things above God. And on the other hand, there are times when we are just plain stubborn.
There may be a morning when I log into Facebook and stalk people for three hours then go on about my day putting off my bible study or prayer time because I’m “too busy”.

We need a heart check. You and me. Searching and examining your own heart for those idols that have snuck into our hearts or the false god that we have let right in. This may take some serious time of prayer and consideration. Wait for God to speak and keep your mind open to what He is convicting you of. I know that for some, the moment you hear the word “idol”, you want to stop reading and go back to your day because most of the time, we don’t like to dig deep and take a look at ourselves because we are afraid of what we may find.

But God is a great God of mercy. He will speak to you in a loving, correcting way and not a condemning, harsh way. He is ever faithful to reveal things to you and give you wisdom when you ask. {Proverbs 2:6}

This may take just minutes or it may take weeks for God to be able to work in you and lovingly convict you of the idols in your life.

It may be your job or the desire to be married. It may be schoolwork or the desire to be in control.

For me it is just that. Control. When I feel like I am out of control in any situation, I freak. I desire to be in control of my life sometimes more than I desire God to be God in my life. I am laying it down and walking away… walking away from my idols but walking towards the God of gods who deserves complete reign over my heart. He expects nothing less.

“For the Lord your God is a consuming fire; he is a jealous God.”
-Deuteronomy 4:24

So, find that blank page and get to writing. In one column, write “idols” and under that, name each one according to what God has laid on your heart to lay at His feet. Pray over these today, tonight, tomorrow, all week. In another column, write “challenge”. Your challenge is to think up, write down, and live out practical ways to put to death the idols stealing your time and passion. For example, if you put the importance of schoolwork or your job ahead of God, devote extra time in the morning or evening spend exclusively with Him. If you Facebook stalk too often and do not pray enough, challenge yourself to stay away from social media for a week or two and devote that time to prayer and bible reading.

This challenge is all your own. You set the dates and times because you know what God is calling you to do. Don’t miss out on this awesome opportunity of transformation and renewing.

You are not alone in this. I have my own list and I am ready to be changed and used by God FOR God. I am challenging myself for two weeks. Feel free to comment and let us know how you are doing. I am praying for God to use this to grow us closer to Him!

Praying for you who are partnering with me in this. Remember to seek Him daily, even hourly. We can’t do this alone. We weren’t meant to do it alone! Allow God to cleanse your heart of idols that desire only to steal His place.

“Now may the God of peace himself make you completely holy and may your spirit and soul and body be kept entirely blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.
He who calls you is trustworthy, and he will in fact do this.”
1 Thessalonians 5:23,24

20131029-132620.jpg

Reply to what ya think..

