Day 6 of iAmThankful

About a year after graduating high school, I was at a standstill with what to do with my life. I never understood the whole “you should have your entire life planned out by the time you’re eighteen” idea and honestly it made it a little, a LOT stressed because I would always remember Matthew 6:25-34. Even well-meaning church goers would badger me about the fact that I hadn’t started college yet.

You see, God told me not to go to college because He had something better. The issue was, He wouldn’t tell me what that “better” was. So, that whole summer I prayed and I asked and I worried and I was at peace and I cried and I said “forget it” at times. But one day, a day I’ll never forget, God spoke!

I had just finished up a very early quiet time (I should probably tell you that I was reading Matthew 6) and as I was leaving my home, probably going to shop, a big orange bird flew right in front of me and landed on my car. It had straw and leaves in it’s mouth like it was building a home or taking food to it’s babies. It looked right at me. And instantly, I remembered those verses…

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink, or about your body, what you will wear. Isn’t there more to life than food and more to the body than clothing?
Look at the birds in the sky: They do not sow, or reap, or gather into barns, yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Aren’t you more valuable than they are? And which of you by worrying can add even one hour to his life?
So then, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Today has enough trouble of its own.

{Matthew 6:25-27,34}

God showed me that truly He provides for the birds and if He provides for the birds then I better get ready for what He is going to do in my life and how He is going to provide for me! So why should I ever worry? Because if God is for us then who, WHO can be against us?

It was years later that I finally figured out why I wasn’t supposed to go to my hometown college. I don’t even live there anymore! I am married to the man of my biggest prayers & dreams, taking care of our home, and living for Jesus. The years between now and when I wrote about, God led me to amazing opportunities to serve Him. I would not trade that for one day in college. Hear my heart in this, this was my story and everyone’s story is different. God may want you to go to college without knowing what for and you need to be obedient in that, but there truly are other circumstances where He may not. Listen to the voice of God above the other voices.

For Day 6 of #iAmThankful, I am thankful for nature, God’s creation. That was one of the many stories about how God has spoken to me through His creation. Look around, the trees are bright and vivid and the leaves are starting to fall. I wish you could hear all the birds chirping around me this morning. So sweet!

I don’t like nature because I think it has some kind of weird power. I enjoy nature because it is the handiwork of my God. It is His masterpiece and He uses it to speak to us. Jesus says in His Word that “if they keep silent, the very stones will cry out!” He said this to a condemning Pharisee who was sick of hearing Jesus’ disciples praise Him for being the King of kings!

Nature is God’s. He created it through and for Himself. Have you ever looked at a leaf? Listened to the birds sing their songs? Watched the sun rise? Stood outside in a storm? Watched a blue bird? Stared at the stars?
All of these things, God created. They are incomparable! Man cannot create a picturesque sunset at the beach. Man cannot control the seas and the storms with the shout of his voice! Only God can!

I am so thankful for nature because it is the one thing on earth that cannot be changed by man. They can try but only God creates it and controls it.

Even Penny, my almost-8 week old Siberian Retriever, loves listening to the birds sing!

Take a walk today or at least look out your window and enjoy God’s awesome creation!

“For since the creation of the world his invisible attributes – his eternal power and divine nature – have been clearly seen, because they are understood through what has been made. So people are without excuse.” -Romans 1:20

-K

“For every creation of God is good and no food is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving.” -1 Timothy 4:4

20131106-084406.jpg

One thought on “Day 6 of iAmThankful

Reply to what ya think..

