Day 16,17 iAmThankful!

Joey and I had the opportunity to visit our parents for the weekend. This always makes me so happy because who doesn’t love their parent’s homes; delicious (free) food and free lodging. 🙂 We had planned to head back home Saturday afternoon after celebration his sister’s birthday with the family. Although, a few nights ago, I came down with a sore throat and it has gradually gotten worse.

So now, Joe and I are having a lazy and sick Sunday morning snuggled up at his parent’s home on a cold rainy day playing cards and feeding our dog bananas since we didn’t pack enough dog food. Not the worst thing ever. What an awesome time together. No plans, no schedules, no work, or even showers. Just my husband and I on a rainy fall morning enjoying life together watching Christmas movies. Although I have a mean sore throat, I am so thankful for a home away from home.

For Day 16 & 17, I am thankful for many things from this weekend. I am thankful for my family whom I was able to eat my favorite Mexican food with Friday night, a fun hometown that hosts Santa’s Workshops that make a fun date night out, a new and awesome sister(in law), Kristi, whose birthday we celebrated yesterday, my amazing in-laws who let us stay here all weekend and play card games with us, especially my mom-in-law, Judy, who brews the best hot tea that is possibly heavenly. I’m also thankful that they take care of Penny and make us dinner. I’m also thankful for the ability to listen to the sermon online we are missing back home. Above all, I am thankful for health.

Although I feel very under the weather, I know that it’s just temporary and God will heal me. I am so thankful for my health and my husband’s health and even my entire family’s health. We are blessed to be healthy. I’m so thankful to live in a place where dying from a simple cold just isn’t an option. We have any medicine we need at our fingertips. I really take my health for granted until the times where I do get sick and I realize that God’s hand of blessing and health is always on me and my family.

Just last night as I was lying in bed, I was thinking about all the home remedies I was trying to get rid of this sore throat. Warm salt water, lozenges, sinus medicine, the list goes on. While those things did heal for a few minutes or hours, the hurt only came back. It wasn’t until I was out of options that I prayed to God to take away the pain.

I began to realize that problems I face in daily living, I try to remedy myself in this same way. I try to work these issues out on my own or rely on someone or something else to fix me or my problems. The problem with this is, although they may help for a moment or a season, the hurt will still come back one way or the other. My husband can give me advice and I can try to fix myself but it’s only when I ask and rely on God to help me that I will find true healing or wholeness.

I’m so thankful that God uses certain circumstances, good or bad, to speak to me in amazing ways. I have a fuller reliance on God after realizing that He and He alone is the ultimate healer and provider of my needs.

What have you been relying on apart from God to sustain you?

Turn to God. There are so many things to be thankful for all because of His love for you and me!

Happy Sunday!

-Katie

20131117-112754.jpg

Reply to what ya think..

