Day 25 iAmThankful

20131125-205332.jpg

It’s so good to be back! My husband and I had a great, relaxing, and exciting adventure in the mountains this weekend with our friends. It was such a sweet time of not worrying about schedules and plans and having fun shopping, watching magic shows, and being kids again hanging out all day at Wonder Works. It went by all too quickly.
It was such a blessing to enjoy a few days with a couple of the people we love!

Today for the iAmThankful picture journey, I am thankful for holidays.
This afternoon, my awesomely sweet husband took me to my favorite store-Hobby Lobby- to pick out Christmas decor! I love this time of year!

Falling leaves means turkey and out of town family visiting!

Falling snow and cold weather means fuzzy socks and hot chocolate!

Christmas lights being strung by cheerful neighbors, Ella Fitzgerald bellowing out old Christmas tunes on Pandora, warm smiles and good deals at the mall. I’m kind of a big time fan of holidays.


Christmas music is playing in the background as my husband and I scurry around putting up our first Christmas tree together in our new home. As we add each ornament, I am reminded of how much I love this time of the year. In just a few short days, we will be getting together at family’s homes and stuffing our bellies full of yummy homemade dishes and laughing together. We are blessed!

As a child, Christmas was that special time of family togetherness, hot cocoa, gingerbread houses, and snowmen. I remember flipping through the pages of the JcPenney Christmas catalog going highlighter-crazy, starring and circling all of the new toys and gadgets I liked. Growing up in a Christian home, Christmas time wasn’t just about the snowmen and presents though. Even as a young child, I always knew there was something more. A real gift had come into the world; one special gift that couldn’t compare to all of the toys in the world. I only knew of this gift because of my parent’s consistency and great desire to remind us children not to get too caught up in the fairy dust. Jesus Christ was that gift and without Him, there would be no Christmas! They would always remind us, read us children stories about that O Holy night, and also read the accounts of Jesus’ birth in the Bible. More than all of that, they lived it out. And that is why it stuck with me. They served others and helped others. They loved us and pointed us to Christ during this exciting season when it is easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of trying to buy every single toy on the list; toys that will only get played with once or twice and then replaced with a better one. I believe it’s important that, beyond the earthly gifts, parents give their children “The Ultimate Gift”- learning about Jesus and why He was born into this world. He is the one and only gift that won’t be replaced.

This year, I pray that we may not get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the season but use this time to focus on the family members and friends and coworkers, giving the Gift to those who don’t have Jesus.

There is nothing wrong with Christmas traditions and enjoying time with family shopping and putting up the tree, as long as we don’t lose sight of the One whom we have the reason to celebrate!

Is there a certain family member or friend or maybe even a coworker who needs some encouragement, some extra money for gifts, or maybe a table to sit around on Thanksgiving? I pray that we will be extra open to whomever God puts in our way to bless this season.

Thank God for our Savior!

Tis the season!

-K

20131125-205515.jpg

Reply to what ya think..

