Day 27 iAmThankful!

20131127-181447.jpg

November is drawing to an end and we are one day away from… Turkey Day!

I do love the holidays. It’s the ultimate family time for us. This morning, we packed up and headed back to the hometown. Penny was in the backseat sleeping away, (praise!), and we even got to see a little snow flurries on the way.

Today, Day 27 of iAmThankful, I am thankful for my hometown. Most would say that there is not much out here but for me, it is where life started. Generations before me lived on the same piece of land and I hope that generations after me will do the same.
It is the place I can always go to where my grandma’s yummy home-cooking resides and where I can visit my sweet family. It’s a place soaked with childhood memories and wooded paths perfect for quiet morning walks.

It is where my life was shaped. I grew up there…

I am thankful for my hometown because now that I have moved on and am not there, I can easily look back and remember all the moments that once made who I was. It may sound trivial but there is a certain hill on a certain road that connects to my house that I used to run up and down in the summertime when I enjoyed being in shape. On one particular bright morning, I remember running up that hill, sweat pouring and knees aching. A little yellow butterfly twittered right past me and followed me all the way up the hill. I realized that the more I focused on the beauty of that butterfly, the easier the steep hill I was running up became. It showed me that sometimes there are mountains or trials in our life. Job loss, anxiety, lonliness, financial problems, sickness, the unknown, confusion. The more I keep my eyes focused on Jesus, the smaller and more enjoyable this mountain staring down at me becomes. Our circumstances may never change but our outlook on them can. My eyes turn from the problem back to the Problem Solver, our help in time of trouble, Jesus.

That was just one of the thousands of memories and teaching moments that my God revealed to me on that road. I’ll cherish them forever.

I am thankful for the ability to leave my hometown because now I cherish time spent with people I can’t see on an everyday basis. God pulled me from my comfort zone into a place that didn’t have that perfect running hill or any other familiar place. I’m thankful for that because now my husband and I have the opportunity to make our own memories, learn new things from God, and meet new friends who are just as close as family.

How was your life shaped?

No matter how you grew up, God was with you and God has a bright and purposeful future ahead of you. Seek Him and He will make your paths straight!

“A person plans his course, but the Lord directs his steps.” -Proverbs 16:9

-Katie

Reply to what ya think..

