A New Challenge: The Praise Journey

The coffee is brewing, the puppy is playing, the Christmas tree is (still) lit, the rain is sprinkling, my husband is working, and I am ready to sit down at the feet of God.

A new year is here, 2014, and like any new morning, it brings with itself a sense of change and opportunity.

I have been itching to get this started. It is a Beth Moore devotional given to me by my wonderful husband. I decided to wait until January 1st to start it. It is a ten-week devotional on prayer.

Prayer. I have mentioned before that prayer is something that I struggle with in my walk with Yahweh. In the mornings, either my attention span is too short or I feel like I am too busy to sit still.

I am so pumped and ready for how God is going to work in me and through me during this study. The devotional’s purpose is to “know Christ through the study of His Word and the intimacy of prayer”. My soul yearns to know Him more. To really feel the heart of God thumping. To hear his “Whispers of Hope” (which is the book’s title. Check it out!)

If you haven’t noticed already, I love a good challenge!

I Invite you to commit to bow alongside me in ten weeks of dedicated prayer time.

You don’t need a book (although, a prayer devotional is a great guide and motivator which helps me to be on track).

All you need is a willing heart and a desire to know Christ more intimately.

I am devoting 30 minutes daily in prayer time exclusively to my Lord. Like Beth teaches, that time will be spent like the following…

Praising Him
Repenting of any current sin
A His presence and Lordship in my own personal life
Interceding for others in prayer
Supplication for self, or telling him how we’re feeling and what we’re going through and where we need His strength.
Equipping. While “supplication for self helps us know God; this step assists us as we grow in our capacity to SERVE God.”

This is a format she calls “P.R.A.I.S.E.” (She is a genius I believe.)

I want to KNOW God more intimately this new year.

Join me, won’t you?

A life that knows God is a blessed life indeed!

-Katie

20140102-083536.jpg

One thought on “A New Challenge: The Praise Journey

  1. Pingback: January. | Hot Tea And The Empty Seat

Reply to what ya think..

