Dive In.

photo (1)

Have you ever received an unexpected gift? Whether it be from a friend, a spouse, or a stranger, gifts are always uplifting. I believe God gives unexpected gifts and sometimes, we are too busy to even notice. But other times, it hits us like a gush of cold fresh water on a hot summer day.

Oddly enough, that gift will be the same for everyone yet… different. He gives Himself to us but I believe, in different ways. He gives His love to the brokenhearted when they believe there is no fixing their torn heart. He gives comfort to the hurting and the one whose life is full of loss. He gives healing to the sick, strength to the weak. He is Love. He is the Great Comforter. He is the Great Physician. He is the Almighty One.

This morning, He gave me refreshment, a refreshment of Freedom, Peace, and Joy that I already have in Christ, but along the journey, I let life get in the way. Busyness and insecurity tried trampling over my soul. But God had a plan and He had a perfect gift in store for me. He was just waiting for it to be opened. Here is the story…

If I’m being honest, the past few weeks I have just been dragging. If you ask my husband, he will tell you that I have been an emotional wreck. Then again, he might also say, “when is she never?” But honestly, I have been struggling. Whether it began because I have been physically sick or because my soul was aching for more Jesus, it hadn’t let up. I prayed and prayed for release. It felt like God wasn’t listening. Ever felt that way? It happens to all of us but God always has reasoning behind it.

This morning.

This morning I wasn’t expecting to be refreshed. Oh, ye of little faith! When should I ever go before the Lord and not expect to be refreshed? Lord, I believe. Help my unbelief. This morning, I flipped open my bible and out fell a banana-shaped piece of paper. It read “faithfulness”. I smiled and immediately, my memory took me back to the moment when I first chose this funny banana reminder. It was during Sunday school at church and I was a young and niave 16-year-old girl. We were learning about the fruit of the Spirit and we were to choose a fruit that we felt like we lack living out in our everyday life. Faithfulness. At the time, I was being unfaithful to God and probably everyone else in my life. Years down the road, it still sits in my bible where I left it. This particular morning, I find lying between the pages of Psalm where my daily reading was. This morning, I saw this word in regards to God’s faithfulness to me. I will let Him down as I have in the past but He will never be unfaithful to me. I was thankful.

Then, I started reading.

The words were just floating off the page right into my heart, my tired and guilt-ridden heart.

Those who sat in darkness and in the shadow of death, bound in affliction and irons–because they rebelled against the words of God, And despised the counsel of the Most High, therefore He brought down their heart with labor; They fell down and there was no one to help. Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, And He saved them out of the darkness and the shadow of death, and broke their chains in pieces. Oh, that man would give thanks to the Lord for His goodness, and for His wonderful works to the children of men! For He has broken the gates of bronze, and cut the bars of iron in two.

Fools, because of their transgression, and because of their iniquity, were afflicted. Their soul abhorred all manner of food, and they drew near to the gates of death. Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and He saved them out of their distresses. He sent His word and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions. Oh, that men would give thanks to the Lord for His goodness, and for His wonderful works to the children of men! Let them sacrifice the sacrifices of thanksgiving and declare His works with rejoicing…” Psalm 107:10-22 (italics & bold mine)

At this point, I think my dry cistern of a soul inside of me swelled up like being filled with ice-cold refreshing water. Living water. My heart was uplifted. God was speaking to me. Faithfulness.

I am the least of these, a wretched woman am I. Because of my own silliness and selfishness, I get myself in a rut. But, God. God is there, He is always there to save me. Every day He saves me. From myself and from my sinfulness. I am eternally saved and the enemy cannot have me but I am still living in this flesh and God has to save me from myself everyday. I have been in this rut for the past few weeks. I put myself there.

I pack my load heavy with guilt, big bags of guilt. I throw some worry, anxiety, and busyness into the load and I fall down from the weight of it all. But God hears me in my affliction. And because of His faithfulness, He saves me. He picks me up, pulls the heavy bag off of my sore and weary shoulders and reminds me that He already bore the weight of all this sin. He replaces that weight with weightlessness.

Freedom. Joy. Confidence in my salvation. Guiltlessness. I truly am free. No more guilty feelings. No more iron bars.

He says to me once again, “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” {Matthew 11:29,30}

God’s Word is alive. It is where we find healing. Within His Word, we find rest and peace and life. Because Jesus is God’s Word and in Him, we will be refreshed.

Beloved, I beg you…

“Drink from His vast ocean of faithfulness. Dive in, head-first, and drown in His grace. Find the great treasure of salvation, joy, and comfort. Float weightless in His Presence of Freedom, no guilt! Be refreshed in the waters of His LOVE. Receive His gift.”

-Katie, a sinner saved by the Gracious Father, God, and newly refreshed daughter of the King

One thought on “Dive In.

  1. Pingback: diving into the Word & the weekend | Hot Tea And The Empty Seat

Reply to what ya think..

