Testimony Tuesday- Letting Go of Control

Happy Tuesday! I am so excited to share another Life Story with you today! There is beauty in every story that has been touched by the mighty loving hand of Jesus. I love hearing about lives that have been changed by God. Be encouraged today!

My story is like the story of many others. I came to Christ at a young age. It is difficult to remember what my life was like before I met Jesus, but I know even then that I was the worst of sinners in desperate need of saving grace. There were moments of clarity about my faith and growing in Christ as I grew up, but also a vast lack of consistent discipleship. A time came when I strayed far from my Savior and began to question my faith and live for myself, not for Him. Although I did not know it then, my deepest struggle was a need for acceptance and acclamation. I wanted control. This was revealed in multiple troubled relationships with men and friendships I would do anything to keep. Funnily enough, none of it satisfied me. It turns out that people are not easy to predict or control. The life I lived left me broken and raw. I found myself riddled with sin. God intervened.

I entered college and found myself surrounded by genuine and mature Christians for the first time in my life. I found life and health in the pages of my bible. I was discipled for the first time. Hallelujah! I knew my Jesus and it was beautiful. Unfortunately sanctification is a process and not a one time event. I was still riddled with the need to find significance in what I could achieve and the company I could keep. I still wanted control. My pride and insecurity continued to crop up in my life throughout college and I added one more broken relationship to the list. I did not trust God to meet my needs. God intervened.

I went to Romania on my first mission trip and that is where I met him. I did not like him. I thought he was mean. He did not like me either. He thought I was controlling. He was right. This relationship continued unchanged until about six months before we were married. I have now been married to this godly and loving man for over 5 years. I tried my old ways in the early part of our marriage. I have to say that control and manipulation is not conducive to a thriving marriage. Jason would not be controlled. I also became friends with some godly women who were willing to challenge me at the point of my sin and continue to do so. God’s word continued to light my path as a wife, as a believer. Add two small children and a husband in the ministry and you have ready-made sanctification. God is good.

I have realized that His love is unfailing and I can trust Him to meet my every need in Him. It all begins and ends with Jesus. I am fully accepted in Him and my cup runs over. I am so thankful for the saving blood of Jesus and His intervention in my life. There is so much to tell because His works are many, but I trust I have told the greatest story today.
He saved me, even me.”

-Gena, mother of two beautiful children, wife to Jason, friend to many, fellow writer, and faithful servant of Christ!

 

 

20140114-145030.jpg

2 thoughts on “Testimony Tuesday- Letting Go of Control

Reply to what ya think..

