Giant.

This morning during my quiet time, I decided to catch up on some Bible reading. My husband and I are going through the entire bible from beginning to end. We were supposed to do it in 6 months but by the rate we’re going, we may be done when we are 50 😉 We decided that we should take it slow and intentionally be listening for what God is wanting us to hear instead of making our reading just another daily task.

This morning, God really spoke… at the perfect moment. We are in 1 Samuel and I am in the middle of David first stepping onto the scene. Lately, my life has been a roller coaster. From dreadful doctor’s appointments to waiting for the answers, it seems like my emotions are wearing thin. My husband isn’t worried and is set on believing there is nothing wrong but I cannot quite get myself to fully believe that everything will be okay. I am not one to immediately give up hope the minute I walk into a trial but it is hard to completely trust when you don’t feel like God is in the middle of working things out. Oh, Katie of little faith. But thank God that my feelings aren’t always truth. God’s truth and reality has nothing to do with my feelings.

Let’s get back to the story! In chapter 17 of 1 Samuel, Israel is staring right in the eye of the enemy. The Philistines are up against them waiting to fight. To make matters worse, a Philistine giant steps out to fight one of Israel’s guys. The victor gets everything the loser owns… his people, his belongings, his everything. As Israel is shaking in their boots, waiting on God to send the right guy into the fight, David runs up to deliver a word to his older brothers in war. David is cunning and strong but he is just a kid. Saul, Israel’s king at the time, along with everyone else who is watching is wondering what this little twig is doing here.

Then, God chose David to fight. To fight against this giant.

There stands David against Goliath, the giant. David is looking like a little jelly bean in comparison to this strong iron man. David feels the Presence of the Almighty fill his bones and he speaks in the face of possible defeat, “You come to me with a sword, with a spear, and with a javelin. But I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of armies of Israel, whom you have defied. This day the Lord will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you and take your head from you… for the battle is the Lord’s, and He will give you into our hands.” {1 sam. 17:45,47}

He picks up a stone out of his dirty pocket, aims, and hits the giant.

Down tumbles the giant. The crowd gasps. Silence. David, the weakling whom God had chosen, just defeated the giant of his life. With a rock.

David prevailed, God defeated.

What is the giant in your life? What are you facing?

Don’t forget that this giant dude was decked out. He had every source of strength surrounding and covering him. Still, he was no match for our God. No matter how strong the giant you’re facing looks, remember that it is just cheap plastic in the eyes of God. Our King doesn’t depend on material or earthly strength to defeat the enemies. He is enough. God will provide you with victory if you call upon Him. There is nothing too big or strong for God, the mighty God of love and victory. If you have accepted His salvation, He has already claimed victory over your life. When Jesus defeated death through the cross, He defeated your enemies as well. Nothing in this world can overpower you when you rely on the strength of the Father. Remember that God is with you and your giant will fall flat on it’s face.

In the midst of my trials and battles of life, I can have comfort, faith, and confidence that God will defeat my giants.

Always.

And so can you. Beloved, do you believe it?

“The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

-Exodus 14:14

-Katie

Exodus

{via pinterest.com}

4 thoughts on “Giant.

  1. Right after my husband and I got married we found out that I had Endometrosis, thus making getting pregnant difficult. I was in the same place that you described with the waiting, worries doubts and fear while your husband is being a rock. It’s been 9 months and we’re still ttc. Thank you for writing this post.. I needed the reminder that God has the situation in his hands.

    Whatever your situation is my prayers are going out to you.

    • Wow! So encouraged by your honesty and openness! God will bless that and remember, He always has a plan! Even when we are in our darkest moment, He is working things out on our behalf! Just remember that this is not your identity, you’re a great wife, and God is going to bless the two of you more than you know! 🙂
      -Katie

Reply to what ya think..

