Trusting in the Face of Fear

At the moment, a bird to my right is chirping to another, my puppy is in the yard chewing on grass, there is bad 80’s music playing a few garages down, and for the first time in months, it is sunny and 63 degrees. Today was also the first day in a while that I found myself in a situation where I had to quickly rely on the supernatural power of Christ to come alive in my body otherwise things were not going to look too well.

My husband took off work this morning to take me to the doctor. It is safe to say that I have anxiety about doctor visits. Major anxiety. Whether it be dentists or doctors or anyone in between, I freak. As soon as the doctor’s words could slip out of her mouth, my face got hot and I started to lose it. I did, but that’s not the point I’m going to focus on. After a few minutes of being consoled by my sweet husband, the Holy Spirit reminded me of the decision I had to make.

I asked myself, “Katie, are you going to ask for God’s strength and wholly believe that He will in fact come through and give you the strength and boldness that you need to endure this mini-mountain you’re facing? Do you believe that He is here with you? Or are you going to focus on being so scared, worried, and afraid that praying won’t even be an option? You say to trust and rely on the Lord but will you in fact act on that proclamation?”

I knew what I had to do and so I prayed. I believed. And I trusted.

And He, Jesus my Savior, came through. Just like He always does. Yes, I panicked for a bit but the Holy Spirit quickly helped me realize that it is in these exact moments that I have the option to put my faith into action. It is in these moments when we are face to face with fear, anxiety, death, or whatever it may be that we truly live out our faith in Jesus.

Our actions speak louder than words.

I am thankful for a few things today…

One, that the appointment is all over with.

Two, that I have a supportive and comforting husband.

And three, that all I have to do is trust and He will act on my behalf. All I have to do is believe in Him, and He will come through. He will save me in those scary moments. He will give me the strength that I need. I don’t need to fight my fears on my own. He is there with me. He is ready to fight for me!

He will always give us the strength we need for the future mountains that we will face, for the fear that we will look in the eye, and for the unknown roads that we travel on.

“I sought the Lord, and He answered me and delivered me from all my fears.”  -Psalm 34:4

In the face of fear, when you don’t know how to react, trust and believe in Jesus!

 

“In God I trust; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” -Psalm 56:11

You are loved and protected by the King of kings, Jesus!

 -K

Reply to what ya think..

