top ten reasons not to fret

20140219-094934.jpg

If you may know, I am a bit of a control freak. I need to have a list of today’s agenda. I need to know what my husband will be doing at work. I need the dog to sit and be still and not eat my shoes. I need to know what my life will look like tomorrow, oh, and a year from now. I need to know when and where and how and why and what in the world. “I need you to slow down the car and pay more attention”. “I need you to stop doing it this way and start doing it that, I mean, my way“. I wear myself out.

And then I sit and stare into the invisible heavens picturing my mighty God sitting on His throne where He always is and will always be & my being finds a little rest. I love to write this down. So, I adore making lists & one of them being, “top ten reasons not to fret“. I want to share it with you in hopes that you can laugh, breathe, and take away a little bit & find rest. We don’t need to know when and why and where all of the time. It’s exhausting. All I need to know is who my God is.  I am certain He will take care of the rest. In fact, he tells me (and you) here: “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” -Matthew 6:34 & here: “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” -1 peter 5:7

top ten reasons not to fret

1. If you worry about something you have no control over, you end up wasting the time that you do have control over: the present. living intentionally in the now doesn’t mean worrying over the future.

2. “He’s got the whole world in His hands!” Like, every southern Baptist 4-year-old knows that. you need to believe it too. so, go ahead, sing it! there is no shame. He’s in control so you don’t have to be. Childlike faith.

3. Stressing out makes your hair fall out or turn grey. you do not want either. don’t worry, be happy.

4. your kids are watching you. do you want to raise little worry warts? if you don’t have kids, strangers are watching you & do you want to be known as a crazy? I know it puts my husband in a mood if I’m constantly worrying over every little aspect of his life & mine. even the dog runs and hides.

5. The issue at hand is probably not as major as your mind is making it seem. If you say you trust God, then rest in that trust. When has God ever proved to be unfaithful?

6. There will always be coffee and hot tea in this world. {hopefully.} drink a cup and say a prayer. it does wonders on your nerves.

7. Worrying is sinful. worrying your life away is not from God. “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life?” {Luke 12:25} He came to this world to give you abundant life not a life full of stress, stress, & more stress.

8. no matter how awful your situation seems, God is on His throne. Which means He is in control of every situation. if you love & follow Him, He will make your paths straight. He will work it out for you. Be still and the Lord will fight for you.

9. stop blaming your negative & worrisome attitude on your parents. “I get my fearfulness from my mom, I can’t help it. My grandma was the same way.” um no. stop putting it off on others. including yourself. ask God to teach you to take each thought captive. by doing so, each fearful thought will be cast to Christ where all sins are forgiven & people are freed. I believe this also includes those who fret so much it makes them physically sick. I’ve been there & tried the medicine. honestly, this is what I’m learning…

10. Faith is key. worrying means lack of faith in God. lack of faith and lack of trust in Him go hand in hand. ask God to increase your faith in Him & watch your worries fade away.

I hope you realize & remember that God is in control.

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” Hebrews 4:15,16

❤ ps, I have been singing this song for the past few days. It’s so encouraging & so freeing. I believe it is so fitting for this post. click here to listen & find our new favorite song! “Cast Your Cares” by Tim Timmons 🙂

be joyful always.

Katie.

2 thoughts on “top ten reasons not to fret

Reply to what ya think..

