real struggle: negative thoughts

20140224-113354.jpg

It’s time to get real. I struggle.

Daily, I struggle with my thoughts. Doubt, insecurity, and fear rules my mind at times {a lot of the time}. I have such a difficult time staying positive. In my heart and soul, I am at peace and I can feel joy but inside my mind, I can be so darn negative. It’s like my brain only knows how to think negative thoughts. I try and try to train my mind to “stay positive” but what does that really even mean?! Before I can even realize that I’m being so negative, my mind is thinking the worst.. “my house is broken into, we lose all our money, my husband isn’t satisfied with me, no one likes me, I am not a good wife, we can’t have kids,” and the list goes on! Ugh. Someone tell me I’m not the only one who worries about these down-right LIES. You too? Shew, good. I know my husband loves me more than ever and God is in control with my life but negativity tries to choke me. And why are we so familiar with those two mean little words…

“what if..” “what if..” “what if..” those words eat me alive.

It’s exhausting! Sometimes I can’t even control my negative brain concoctions. I pray & pray for God to take away my negative thoughts but every time I become scared, insecure, or even just curious, my mind would wonder into the depths of darkness. I’m serious, our minds are tainted with sin & it’s a BATTLE daily. I’m knee deep in war and the devil isn’t letting up. His bag is full of shame and fear and he is dying to share it. I’m telling you this because it is so easy to hide behind our sin. We pretend satan isn’t real. He is and he is a liar, thief, and he hates you and I. He wants us to drown in our negative thoughts.  But I am no slave to sin. I know in my heart that I can overcome & conquer anything! Jesus died to set me free. But PRACTICALLY, how in the world can I train my worried brain to stop being so negative?

I am always reminded of this specific verse when I get down & out and just want to “think happy thoughts”…

“Finally brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable—if there is any moral excellence and if there is any praise—dwell on these things.” -Philippians 4:8

I am called to think of whatever is true. I believe that scripture is God-breathed & He never lies. I am called  to think of whatever is honorable & just. I am commanded to think about PURE things. Negativity, however it may look, is never pure. His love for me is pure. I am called to think things that are lovely. I am reminded of my sweet husband, puppy, and all the many blessings God has given me. Those are lovely things. I should dwell on those things. I am commanded  to think about commendable things or things of “good report“. All of those mini-horror flicks that my brain produces are LIES and they are not commendable. Scripture is so encouraging. It’s also so stinkin’ convicting. As I write, I am reminded of how weak I am and how easily my mind is ensnared by negative. I desperately need my Jesus daily, hourly, every-thoughtly. (I know it’s not a word but you get the point.)

It’s time to CALL OUT this pattern of sin, sister. I will no longer allow sin to reign in my mind and hold me in bondage. It’s not of God, it’s not healthy, & it’s not truth. It’s not what God has for me. And it’s not what God has for you.

Sister, are you with me? You and I don’t have to be held captive by our thoughts, we have the power to send those negative thoughts, fearfulness, insecurities, & whatever else plagues your mind STRAIGHT to the Savior & Redeemer, Jesus. He destroys them &  we.  are.  free.

But this takes time. hard work. perseverance. help. discipline. accountability.

we need each other.

Don’t wait any longer. Jesus is calling you & I to a free and full life. Let’s start living it. For the next few weeks or however long it will take, I’ll be sharing with you all practical ways that I myself am putting into action to abolish this string of negativity. I’ll be looking for books, studying this topic in the Word, and most of all-getting on my knees in prayer. I would love it if you shared as well. I want you to know that you’re not alone and more importantly, that you can overcome. As Mandisa so wisely puts it, “You’re an overcomer!”

Here is to much prayer & grace and to learning self control, discipline, and how to take each thought captive to Christ. Let’s do this, beloved!

 He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world. -1 john 4:4b

-Katie

13 thoughts on “real struggle: negative thoughts

  1. I just wanted to mention that I just posted on my blog about this very subject; negativity. It is something that I struggld with on a daily basis. I have decided that in my efforts to stop focusing on negativity, I will stop and give thanks for the things God has blessed me with. It can only help. I cannot wait to read what you have to share from your study on this. Thanks for your words. It means a lot to know that I am not alone.

  2. Pingback: one negative thought & one prayer at a time | Hot Tea And The Empty Seat

  3. Thanks for sharing your heart! I love the things that Paul says in Philippians and get excited when people write a little about them. Keep fighting the good fight, run your race pressing on to who Christ has called you to be!

  4. Love this post! My mind is constantly filled with “what if” scenarios, as well, and I recently heard a Christian radio host say she stops that pattern of thinking but asking, “What if…God is faithful? What if…Jesus shows up?” So brilliantly simple and true. It has helped me to start thinking, “So what if all those ‘what if’s’ happen? God is with us.” I hope your journey to fill your mind with positive thoughts is going well! God bless – Ashlee

  5. Pingback: The Struggle : Memory Book | Hot Tea And The Empty Seat

Reply to what ya think..

