one negative thought & one prayer at a time

20140225-114859

Yesterday, I laid my heart out open to you in a post here about how I struggle with keeping my thoughts positive and God-glorifying. Sometimes, it’s simply easier to focus on the bad in a situation than to believe the positive side of things. God has shown me that He walked this earth to not only save me from eternal separation from Him but to give me abundant and joyful life while I am here on this earth. He is also showing me that negative thinking, anxiety, and insecurity is not from Him.  I no longer believe the lie that it’s “God’s will” for me to be anxious and worry-filled. So now, I fight. Because the life Jesus has planned for me is worth fighting for. And I want you to join me. My prayer is that not only I but you can live an abundant life free from negative thinking. With & through God, all things truly are possible. I want to share with you a few ways I am fighting against those thoughts from the enemy…

Yesterday was a busy day filled with house cleaning, organizing, and making sure my four-legged furry child, Penny, didn’t go nuts. It’s so easy for my mind to start wandering while it is just me at home. Maybe you’re a stay at home mom and you know exactly how I am feeling. Maybe you’re a college student. Maybe you’re a widow. Wherever you may be in life, being in the quiet can sure get your mind to start racing. I knew that if I didn’t do something to combat those thoughts, I would fall right back into that pattern. It can straight up ruin your day.

I opened up Pandora on my phone and cranked up some praise and worship music as I folded laundry. My mind was no longer left to wander. My mind was fixated in a place of worship before the creator of my mind. As each praise song to God was lifted up, my mind was filled with the wonder of God. I danced and sang along. All day. Some of my favorite worship artists are Mandisa, Hillsong, Casting Crowns, Kari Jobe, & JJ Heller. Give them a try!

Music is powerful. Because what goes in will come out. I’m not saying that listening to country music or another genre of music is bad, but it’s safe to say that every other genre except praise music will have some type of negativity. Beer, breaking up, sex, & enticing men are not what I want to be thinking about. I want my “mind’s genre” to be completely and totally praise to my great God.

This helped tremendously. I so encourage you to turn on some praise & worship music whenever you can.

I’m not going to lie, before the first song could even end, my mind had already wandered. BUT, I stopped it as soon as I realized what I was doing.

And how you stop those negative thoughts is vital.

I didn’t get mad at myself or feel like I had already failed. I prayed. Out loud I spoke to God. As soon as I realized what was going through my mind I said, “God, these thoughts are NOT of you, please take them.” Simple. And He did take them away. I am learning that this is what “taking each thought captive to Christ” really means.

Girlfriend, He wants more than anything to take your burdens.

Praise music in the silence.

Prayers to Him always

each time a negative thought (worry, fear, anxiety about anything) enters your mind.

Don’t give up.

Keep fighting!

Tomorrow, my husband is taking me on a surprise birthday trip! I will be updating my Facebook page with pictures so be sure to head over there & “like” Hot Tea and the Empty Seat to find out where we will be! Since he says that we will be busy, busy, busy with all sorts of fun activities, I probably won’t be able to post to you all. But trust that you will be in my prayers, sister. I have many other great things to share with you next week that God is showing me so if you haven’t subscribe already, be sure to enter your email address at the bottom of this page. For the rest of the week, I am praying for you. Each time a negative thought pops into your mind, remember to take it straight to Jesus. Every. single. time. Delight yourself, thoughts included, in Him!

It’s our challenge so… Go!

Blessings,

Katie

 

9 thoughts on “one negative thought & one prayer at a time

  1. Love this Katie! Music really does play such a powerful role in how we face our day. I listen to worship most of my day at work and when I’m having a tough time thinking positively I always turn it on. It always helps me get my thoughts back on track on God and His greatness and faithfulness in my life. It’s so important to watch what we fill our minds with whether it’s what we read to, listen to, or watch because it drastically effects how we feel and what we think (and in the end, how we live). Great post!!

  2. Katie,
    Thanks for posting this. I spoke to you yesterday about trying to be more thankful about things instead of focusing on the negativity. Well, I feel that I have been tested in this effort today. However, by being thankful, it does force you to stop and to “refocus” your thoughts. It is a work in progress :). I so cannot wait to read what else you have to share. Happy Birthday to you. I do so hope you enjoy your time away.

  3. Love this post! And it is so true, God wants us to be happy while we are here, and our critical, negative thoughts aren’t from Him. Worship music definitely pulls me out of a crabby funk as well! I recommend Ellie Holcomb’s new albums, she’s got such a sweet heart and a great unique sound! 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Struggle : Memory Book | Hot Tea And The Empty Seat

  5. Pingback: He Reminds Me… | Hot Tea And The Empty Seat

Reply to what ya think..

