the city that never sleeps & neither did we

20140301-214103.jpg

magical.

Something about New York is just magical. Whether it was the food, people, or the downright AMAZING scenery, it was magical.

My husband and I saw everything there was to see (minus a few things we didn’t mind to see of course) and walked probably a total of 20 miles. Or more. You would think id be in total shape but it evened out after all of the Magnolia cupcakes 😉

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing pictures (more like memories) with you all! You better get so excited because girls and boys, THEY ROCK.

I loved everything about it. All the fancy restaurants and Broadway plays, upscale shops, and skyscrapers were breathtaking

But

I couldn’t help but to think about all the people there. People from all over the world. Living in their own little world.

Do they know Him? Do they know the man that died on the cross for them… Jesus?

It broke my heart watching men dig through the trashcans only to find empty coffee cups. I watched a Muslim kneeing on a mat, shoes off, in the middle of Chinatown. I sat by three preteen girls, alone in a coffee shop, talking about boys and using language like they were thirty. I passed a homeless man reading loudly from the Holy Bible. And I remember my husband asking…

“What if that was Jesus?”

My heart is broken for the lost tonight. For the lost in the beautiful, amazing town of New York City.

But on a lighter note, I am reminded of this!

For the Son of Man has come to save that which was lost. (Matthew 18:11 NKJV)

He is GOD! He is able 🙂 and He has New York in the palm of his hand, from Wall Street to the wandering.

Stay tuned for pictures!!!!

-Katie

20140301-200255.jpg

2 thoughts on “the city that never sleeps & neither did we

  1. Oh girl, you’re speaking to my world right now. My husband and I have been in NYC for almost 10 years. It is impossible to describe in one short post, isn’t it? Living here is a battleground – a blessing and a trial and seriously I don’t know how we do it but for the grace of God. Our pastor told us that only 5% of New Yorkers claim to have a relationship with Jesus Christ. That’s probably true from my experience here, too. God is SO needed here and yet so obviously loves this city even when it’s oblivious to Him. Thanks for praying for our people! We are praying that everyone here sees Him and comes to have a personal relationship with Him, too. Can you imagine how amazing that would be? It would probably change the world! I’m so glad you had a blast on your trip! Come back again!

    • Ah, to live in NYC, what a mission field it is! I would love it. I’m so glad you shared that with me, 5%! wow! Definitely praying all the more. It was a beautiful place (especially around central park) but it broke my heart hearing young preteen girls sitting across from us in a café cussing like sailors. God has broken my heart for that city! Praying for a revival there, yes it would be amazing! My former church back home is actually sending a small mission team to the innercity parts for renovation & what not in a few months. Praying for you & your husband to be the feet of Jesus in that place! Blessings!!!
      -Katie

Reply to what ya think..

