shedding light: negative thinking

20140310-122016.jpg

I was reminded this morning in my time with the Lord that He is so in control. In Job, our sovereign Lord answered a presumptuous servant with these words, “Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? Tell Me, if you have understanding. “Have you commanded the morning since your days began, And caused the dawn to know its place, That it might take hold of the ends of the earth..” {Job 38:4,12,13} God is reminding Job that HE is the Creator, the Sustainer, the One in complete control. The entire chapter of Job 38 is the Lord’s response but I especially loved the verses 4, 12, & 13. How amazing is it that God commands each and every morning since the beginning?! That blows my mind. It was a super exciting encouragement but a convicting truth to me also. Why?

Because God is in control not ONLY of the mornings and the earth’s orbit, but He is able to be in complete control of my thoughts. When negativity, doubt, fear, and worry rule in my mind, that is ME allowing Satan to creep into the place which God alone should rule. Allow that truth to settle in your mind for a minute. It makes me hot with anger when I think of that. Christ died to set you free, beloved. Satan has no right and no power over us, we need to stop letting him in. but how do we do this?

Last night, I sat in a circle of women sharing their heart’s fears, triumphs, & sins. We are a group of ladies who do life together. I realized during that time that one way to rid ourselves of negativity is to shed light on it. To speak against it. Out loud. And to other who are siblings in the faith, who will pray, & who understand. There is POWER in confessing and sharing our hearts. “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.” -James 5:6

Stop pushing this negativity deeper inside of you.

Stop pretending it doesn’t exist.

Stop letting Satan reign in your mind.

Get it out there. Shed light on that darkness.

 Ask for prayer and be encouraged!

A sweet friend of mine reminded us last night that asking for prayer and help and confessing isn’t a sign of weakness. Rather, it is a sign of power because we are in a battle against the Enemy and he WILL NOT overtake us! We can not let him. Satan does NOT want us to be in community with other believers. He wants us isolated. He wants us to let negativity eat us alive.

Shed light on the darkness of your mind. God is in control & He will overpower!

If you don’t have anyone you can speak with, pray to God for people to come along side of you to help you. In the meantime, feel free and encouraged to get in contact with me here!

Each time a negative thought comes to mind, immediately pray to God. Ask Him to overpower those thoughts. Then, ask for prayer. You and me, we’re overcomers!

-Katie

9 thoughts on “shedding light: negative thinking

  1. Awesome Katie. I just blogged about this myself. I’m currently believing and fighting a lot of lies… Not easy at all. But you are right… we do not stand alone in this. It is sad to read all last and this week how many struggle with this. One thing I am holding onto: God has fought the good fight, He overcame. We will not remain in the darkness!! Thanks for that Scripture today!!

  2. Also… that Scripture in Job… I needed that too. We are going through some tough trials and reading this gave me focus in it all. During my morning prayer walk there were some things I prayed… this Scripture is an answer!!

    • I am humbled & encouraged by how God has used this little post to speak such truth into your life. praising God for his love for us, isn’t it amazing! He knows exactly what we need! if you ever want to “shed light” on what youre going through with a random sister in Christ, feel free to contact me! xoxo blessings -katie

  3. Pingback: The Struggle : Memory Book | Hot Tea And The Empty Seat

Reply to what ya think..

