a spoonful of grace & bread that is life.

20140312-130327.jpg

last night, I laid in bed wide-eyed. staring at nothing simply because I didn’t have my glasses on, so… it was all the more dreadful. somewhere between the snores and midnight, our lovely dog started whimpering and scratching at the door. after about 10 minutes of pure agony, I finally got out of bed to let her relieve herself in the front yard. as if it couldn’t get any worse, she bolted out the door before I could even get the leash on her. she was gone. even if she was in the middle of the yard, I couldn’t see her since my glasses were back in the room and it was pure darkness outside. on a scale of one to ten, I was about to explode with anger at a whopping 50. I took that anger out on the doors, slamming them and trying to wake everyone in the neighborhood up because if I can’t get sleep then neither should you. sorry, husband. finally, after minutes of yelling and screaming like a redneck on my back porch, she finally decided she would come in. oh, how thoughtful. after throwing her (Lord help our future kids) in her room, I found my way back to the bedroom nearly busting down every door I would walk through.

then, morning came.

after that terrible night of sleeplessness and nearly killing our pet, I deserved a not very good morning. but wouldn’t you know it, that my husband was sweet and graceful when I woke up. I was able to get a couple extra hours of real sleep. When I finally peeled myself out of our bed an hour later, I made my way to the kitchen for some much-needed hot green tea with lemon and honey. my husband and I are dealing with a bad case of sinus issues. before I could even get out of bed, I had an odd feeling surrounding me. I couldn’t brush off this feeling I was having. it wasn’t anger, or dreadfulness, or even sleepiness. it was a peaceful, joyful feeling. it was a feeling of happiness like I couldn’t wait to get this day started. I’m not a morning person (my husband would be the first to tell you) so to be feeling this way was, honestly, a little weird. grace, I thought. grace, grace, grace. God’s perfect refreshing grace. out of His great love for me, he sprinkled, no, poured this grace & joyousness all over me after such a hard and annoying night.

friend, if you are in a hard season of life right now, feeling so tired, angry, and/or done, be encouraged & have HOPE that a joyful season is coming. It is. “…weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” {psalm 30:5} I have found this to be true over and over and over again. there is hope. there is always hope. Jesus, Hope itself, is always there. He is with you when you just want to go berserk. he is with you when you feel like it’s all falling apart, like your night will never end. He is with you in the lonely nights. He is with you. And He is bringing the joy, just hold on to Hope.

as I was stirring honey into my tea, I couldn’t help but think about him. Jesus. this may sound silly but it’s like my soul knows it’s almost easter. that special time of celebration of the One who overcome the grave. I had this yearning in my heart, “as the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God” {psalm 42:1}… I was yearning to get into the Word. I was yearning to meet with Jesus. I meet with Him every morning but for reasons only He knows, my heart was set on those passages talking about when Jesus walked on the water, fed the thousands with just a couple of fish, & later.. when he arose from death. I spent the morning drinking up His word. There truly is no one like Jesus. More than a man, He is the one whom my soul longs for. I spent the morning praising, lifting others up & pleading with God that these feelings of His presence wouldn’t pass. Can you believe that we have the ability to spend time with the Creator of the Universe?! Take a minute and think about the weight of that.

I have nothing specific or special to write to you today but this… what is your heart yearning for?

make it Him. seek Him. bask in His Word today. praise Him, sing to Him, whisper to Him, dance with Him… whatever you do and however you do it, meet with Him!! HE alone will satisfy. you will not regret it. it will be so much more fulfilling than watching your favorite show or Facebook stalking for hours.

his word is our bread. it’s life. He is life.

What has God been speaking to you about lately? What passages are you currently reading through? I would love to hear from you. have an encouraging & peaceful day in our Savior. xoxo

-Katie

3 thoughts on “a spoonful of grace & bread that is life.

  1. Hey, Katie. I’m reading through the Bible this year and am up to Psalm 19 right now. I plan on doing some more reading this evening. I love how the Psalms offer so much comfort and wisdom. Thanks for your encouraging post. 🙂

  2. Wow this is so crazy. I feel like lately God has been overwhelming me with joy and peace too!! Some of the verses that I’ve been reading have been psalm 84 and psalm 63. I don’t know how to describe it but my heart is full with thankfulness and all I want to do is just worship God!!! Thank you so much for this post.

    • Ahh, that’s so refreshing to me Oyinda!! I love hearing about how God is showering his love on others as well! it’s exciting, right? my prayer for months has been for the Holy Spirit to come alive inside of me and I hadn’t any idea how that looked but now I think that I am learning! blessings to you, friend! -Katie

Reply to what ya think..

