Words on a Page: Reading Wish List

The things I want to know are in books; my best friend is the man who’ll get me a book I ain’t read. -Abe Lincoln

Since being married, I have fallen behind on my reading. Of course, I try to read the Bible daily, but I have so missed picking up a good book with a cup full of hot coffee and wasting my morning away in another wonderland. I love reading bible studies, Christian living books, & anything that teaches me ways to draw closer to my God.

Here are a few books that I am so looking forward to digging into hopefully very soon…

1.

20140327-143803.jpg

Love & Respect – While engaged, my husband and I watched a couple of the Love & Respect dvd sermons and they are amazing (were the worst at finishing things) one of these days, I want to read & study this book. I have heard from many wise married couples that this book helps immensely. It’s about the love wives desire & the respect husbands need. It is based on Ephesians 5:33! “However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.”

 

2.

20140327-143748.jpg

Sparkly Green Earrings – “There is really no better indicator you’re a mother than acquiring the ability to catch throw-up in a plastic bag, disinfect your hands, and immediately ask your friend to pass the beef jerky as you put on another Taylor Swift song and act as if nothing has happened.” If that quote doesn’t make you want to read fellow blogger, Melanie’s, book, then I’m not sure if we could be friends. Again, eventually, I can’t wait to read this book. It’s a memoir of motherhood written by “Big Mama”. I love books about real life written by real people. And it will teach me a thing or two about motherhood.

3.

20140327-143756.jpg

The 4 Seasons of Marriage – If ever I had a marriage counselor, I would want it to be Gary Chapman. His famous book, “The five love languages” is packed full of practical wisdom about learning and knowing your spouse’s love language, how he or she feels loved. (I have learned how important that key is and I recommend it to anyone!) But, this book, this sounds great. It’s about teaching couples to discern what “season” their marriage is in and how to nourish it whether it be in “winter” or “summer”. I believe my husband and I would benefit from this greatly. Sooo.. anyone want to buy me a lifeway gift card?! Haha!

4.

20140327-143727.jpg

Grace – The one word that makes me praise God every time I hear it! Grace! “More than we deserve – Greater than we can imagine” -Max Lucado (aka genius writer and great encourager). It wasn’t until almost two years ago that I truly started learning what grace REALLY means and how it should and would affect my life. That is what this book is all about. I think it’s so important for every believer to know what God’s grace is, feels like, looks like and how it should affect our very LIFE. I can’t wait to read this one. I believe I saw it sitting on my parent’s nightstand at one time so I should snatch it up quick. Grace. God’s amazing grace. Oh, it makes me excited!

5.

20140327-143738.jpg

Notes from a Blue Bike – OH GUACAMOLE, HOW I WANT TO READ THIS BOOK. The title alone catches my eye right off the bat. (And I have always wanted a blue bike.) I recently saw Jefferson Bethke’s wife reading it and figured it had to be good. (I, the most anti-fan person, may or may not be a huge fan of theirs! I’m a hypocrite, I know.) As I was researching this book, I realized that Ann Voskamp, genius poet writer and farming Jesus chick, forwarded this book. I have read her book, One Thousand Gifts, like I was reading and studying for a midterm. I assume this book will not let me down. I mean, it’s pretty much about my life right now. Living intentionally in a chaotic and busy crazy world, recognizing the importance in the little moments & living simply.

6.

20140327-143710.jpg

The Antelope in the Living Room – I totally judged this book by it’s cover. I mean, for one, its bright and shiny. For two, that antelope has an earring. For three, that’s an antelope on the cover!? For four, it’s written by the same woman who wrote Shiny Green Earrings. The puke in a bag lady. And five, it’s about MARRIAGE! Ah, I can not wait to own this book. Let this description on the back of the book tell the story: “Marriage is simultaneously the biggest blessing and the greatest challenge two people can ever take on. It is the joy of knowing there is someone to share in your joys and sorrows, and the challenge of living with someone who thinks it’s a good idea to hang a giant antelope head on your living room wall.” Real people, real life, real struggles, & real joy.

So, what are you itching to read? Any books on your wish list? Also, if you have read any of these posted above, I would love to hear your feedback!  

Happy Thursday!

-Katie

 

 

Reply to what ya think..

