retreating from reality & serving in it

Exciting news!

20140404-094737.jpg

1. I am leaving today to go on a women’s retreat in the mountains until Sunday night. I am leaving my laptop, blog, & house chores at home for a little getaway from reality with a group of ladies with one focus: Jesus. Hearing Him, being near to Him, enjoying Him, & learning from Him. Although I will be away from my husband and puppy for two nights and three days, which I’m trying not to think about too much, I know that God is going to do great things in my heart & in the hearts of the women I will be spending time with. I am ready and open for His Presence to wash over me each morning as I wake up early, grab some coffee, and go sit before Him on the big porch outside of our cabin overlooking the mountains. What could be better!? I am stoked. I’m taking my camera to document the trip. So you will be bombarded with pictures next week!

The group of ladies that I am going with are all part of my former Lifegroup in my hometown. Even though I am the only married one, there is an engaged lady that I am so excited to spend time with along with a hardworking mommy of sweet Zoey, a wise women of God leading us who is dating one cool dude named Steve, a sweet woman of God in high school who I am excited to learn more about, & a dear friend who just got accepted to our hometown university who just so happens to be my maid of honor #1 ๐Ÿ™‚ We are all in different chapters of our lives yet we have one desire and one True Love… Jesus, the Savior of our souls & He will be with us ALL weekend!! I feel so honored!

________________________________________________________________________

Haiti-Flag

2. After much prayer and seeking God’s heart, my husband and I have signed up to be apart of a mission trip at the end of this year to HAITI! It isย a ten-day mission trip with our church back in our hometown. Joe and I have always had a heart to serve God’s people overseas. I have served in different states here in our country but never overseas. My husband is the same way. So, we are so excited for the opportunity from God to go and speak love into the hearts of the people living in Haiti. As we first started praying about this opportunity, honestly, I was full of fear. I almost told my husband that I didn’t think we should go. It was so odd because I had always had such a desire to go before the opportunity actually presented itself. You see, I have a big ole fear of flying in planes. I weighed the pros and cons and after much prayer & encouragement from my husband and current Smallgroup, I realized that the only thing holding me back was fear. Fear from Satan. And I was not about to let him win. I believe that God is in complete control & He has given me a peace that surpasses all understanding (because I really do hate flying).

I am so thankful that God cares about the little things. He calmed my fears & made a way. I’m not sure how many others will be on this mission trip with us but it will not be a huge group. The trip is in October of 2014 and we must raise a little over $2,000ย before then. I’m certain that God will provide… He always does! ๐Ÿ™‚ While there, the men will be building a NEW orphanage (praise God!) while we all work alongside two church members who now live there! Please join us in praying for the hearts of the Haitians and the hearts of us going on the trip. Pray for protection, wisdom, & hearts so full of love for God’s people that it overflows into literally everything we do and say. Thank you!

I pray that God will prepare my heart this weekend while I am retreating and relaxing for the days ahead when I, along with our mission group, will be right in the middle of the need for Christ in Haiti.ย I pray that God will give me a compassionate heart, a bold heart, & a heart simply full of Jesus… not only for the Haiti trip inย October but in every other day of my life.

-Katie

 

9 thoughts on “retreating from reality & serving in it

  1. Eeeee! Katie, this post is so exciting!
    1)What a fun weekend for you! I am praying for you, and all of the ladies going, that hearts will be open, receptive, and willing to hear what the Lord speaks and that laughter and joy will be in GREAT supply in your times of fun and fellowship.
    2) HAITI! My Compassion girl lives there! ๐Ÿ™‚ I will be praying for you and your husband and each of the people that you all will interact with while there in October. Ooo, so exciting!
    What a fun post to read! Have a beautiful weekend with Jesus and friends! ๐Ÿ™‚
    -Monica

    • Monica! This was SO encouraging & truly made my heart HAPPY to read it ๐Ÿ™‚ So thank you!!!!!
      And awhhh! how awesome is that that your compassion girl is in Haiti!!! We will be working with an orphanage and the men will be building one!! I will be praying for her! Thanks so much for your support & kind words. keep em comin’! haha ๐Ÿ™‚
      xoxoxo
      blessings, girl!
      -Katie

  2. I work with a paramedic who has gone to Haiti on medical mission trips and her experiences are so filled with God’s goodness! Can’t wait to see Him work through you and your husband, it is forever going to change your life! Praying God’s blessing and abundant favor in all of the trip planning and finances. And have fun on your retreat lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s so awesome!!!!! I bet her stories are amazing. I can’t wait to have our own!! We are so excited. I can already see how God has been changing my heart even before knowing about the trip. Thanks so much for your sweet encouraging words. They mean the world!!!!!!! xoxo

  3. Awesome!!! So much excitement in this post Katie! Very happy to see how God is blessing you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Praying that He will reveal Himself to you in ways He hasn’t ever before through this and that you’ll be able to truly touch the lives of others like you’ve done mine!

    Wow, so excited for you!!!

    I could possibly be giving birth while you’re in Haiti! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Shar โค thank you so much for your encouragement. Thank you so much for praying for & with me as well!! I pray that I can remember that all I am is His vessel & his clay pot full of wonderful treasure: Christ!!
      and so are you! ๐Ÿ™‚

      And whoa! new babies & hopefully new Haitian sisters & brothers in Christ all in October!! ๐Ÿ™‚ So exciting.

      Continuing to pray for you, your family, pregnancy & your ministry!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      xoxo
      Katie

  4. I’m heading out to a church leaders retreat tonight too! May we both be rested and renewed on our weekend getaways. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s so exciting that you are going to Haiti! I have a few friends in Kenya right now and it’s so amazing to hear their stories and see the hard work they do to bless people oversees that have so little compared to us. I’m sure it will be a trip to remember (and learn from) for you and your husband!

Reply to what ya think..

