When God Whispered

20140407-182102.jpg

I am back from my three-day retreat in the mountains. It was so much fun staying up late drinking coffee and revisiting our childhood in coloring books. I never realized how relaxing it is to color. I also never realized how addicting chocolate & the Wicked soundtrack can be! It was a great girlie weekend.

20140407-182052.jpg

20140407-182125.jpg

Apart from all the caffeine and coloring pencils, we had sweet and intense God time. My talented friend, Hannah, brought her guitar & we worshipped God. Here are a few lyrics from a song that we sang.. It is filled with such truth.

 

Hello, my name is defeat
I know you recognize me
Just when you think you can win
I’ll drag you right back down again
‘Til you’ve lost all belief

These are the voices, these are the lies
And I have believed them, for the very last time

20140407-182150.jpg

Hello, my name is child of the one true King
I’ve been saved, I’ve been changed, and I have been set free
“Amazing Grace” is the song I sing
Hello, my name is child of the one true King

I am no longer defined
By all the wreckage behind
The one who makes all things new
Has proven it’s true
Just take a look at my life

20140407-182028.jpg

I went into the weekend with high expectations of how God was going to work. After time spent in prayer, worship, & reflection of my own heart, I realized that God was simply whispering this to me: “I want you to be bold. Let go of the fear and control in your life. I have called you to be fearless.” We spent time studying the Word and learning about strongholds. A stronghold is anything that is in the way of your relationship with God. Whether it be an addiction, an ungodly relationship, or something you place too much importance on such as a relationship, job, etc. I realized that my stronghold is fear itself. And control, as well, because I am too fearful to let God be God. At the end of the study, we were asked to surrender. Let go of whatever is holding us back. Drop it at the feet of God and never pick it back up. I begged God to take away my fear immediately as I have so many times before. I was scared that it wasn’t going to work.

20140407-182143.jpg

But He spoke to me so quietly I had to focus hard to listen. “I have already taken away your fear. It is your turn to believe it and act upon it.” I can ask God to take away my fear every day but until I step out in faith and believe that He has, I will never be free. Fear will always have a strong hold on me until I believe that it is no longer even IN me. So from now on, I must be bold. I must believe that I am fearless and that God is in control, not me. I must act & believe Him at His Word. I get scared just thinking about being fearless. But I know that those feelings aren’t from God. He has shown me that I must have more faith in Him. True walking faith, not just talking faith. Is talking faith even faith at all? Saying you believe but never truly living it out. That kind of “faith” is dead. {James 2:26} It’s time for me to step out & boldly act in faith.

20140407-182132.jpg

Whether it be applying for a job, trusting God in situations I have no control over, simply talking to that neighbor who has been on my heart since we moved in, or dealing with a death of a loved one, I am reminded of this verse as I think about all of the things I am afraid of…

“If God is for us, who can be against us?” Romans 8:31

“For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” 2 Timothy 1:7

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

What is your stronghold? What are you allowing get in the way of your relationship with your mighty, loving, & gracious Father? Let it go!

20140407-182111.jpg

Stand fast in the Lord, beloved…

Katie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “When God Whispered

  1. I’m longing for a weekend get away like that myself… for now there is lots of work on the table but I would like to be on the look out for one. And don’t you love it when God speaks so clearly to you, makes all the difference in the world. God showered me with His presence last week and it was so very powerful!!

    • I will be praying for an opportunity for you to get away with our Father for a little R&R. But isn’t it amazing that no matter where we are, Gods presence renews us!!! Praise God for that. He is so awesome. Hoping you have an amazing Thursday, Hope 🙂
      -Katie

  2. How in the world did I miss this post?! It seems like you had a really great time with other women and with God!!! I would love to be tucked away there for a weekend! 🙂 The way He speaks to you and through you is so beautiful. Just knowing that God is in control makes life so much less stressful for me. My stronghold is this WORLD, I am slowly but surely grasping the concept of not being concerned with things of this world but Godly things.

    Be fearless girl, with God you can do anything! 🙂

    Blessings to you my sweet friend!!

    • Love your honesty. And your kind words- they are sweet to my soul 🙂
      I’m SLOWLY learning that the more we press into Jesus, the further away the world becomes.
      Xoxo blessings & prayers coming your way 🙂
      Hope baby is growing strong!

      Katie

Reply to what ya think..

