Is modest really hottest?

 20140429-102418.jpg

Modesty seems to be that topical that girls really don’t talk about too much. In this day of Victoria’s Secret & Pinterest, it’s pretty much a no-brainer that we, as women, must look our very best as soon as summer rolls around. Our society gives a thumbs up to whatever reveals the most and a thumbs down to modest clothing. It seems as if the world doesn’t give us a choice. They deem you beautiful the less clothing you wear & not so attractive when women decide to cover up. As Christ followers, we throw out the term “modest is hottest” and then sometimes think nothing about it when we head into our closets. Although there are plenty of God-girls who have no problem dressing modestly & awesomely, like my little sister Emily, but there are still many of us who ride the fence between respectful and “what’s-in-style”. Modest is more than just “hottest”. (because really, in this world, it’s not) It is God-glorifying.

Just to be honest, before getting married, I didn’t give TOO much thought to this subject. If I thought it was cute, I wore it. It may have been a little too tight but I had the mindset that if I liked it and it wasn’t too “skanky” then, what’s the big deal? I only had myself in mind. I wasn’t taking the intentional time to focus on what God said about it, how I was portraying myself, or how others were perceiving me. All of us judge others. Of course, in God’s Word, it says otherwise but let’s face it. We judge books by their covers every day. For girls, especially, we judge others by how they dress.

After being married, God opened my eyes. He showed me that how I dress reveals the state of my heart. If I am selfish and prideful, I will dress “however I want” because “everything is about me”. If my heart truly believes God’s Word and wants to glorify Him, I won’t be wearing the shortest shorts I can find or the tightest low-cut shirt.

If our hearts are truly right with God, we will wear what we KNOW is right to wear. And I believe that we, as God’s daughters, all know where to draw the line. If you don’t, I encourage you to talk to a godly woman in your life who portrays modesty. I also greatly encourage you to get back into the Word and get closer to God.

Whether you are married or not, I think we all should remember a few things:

As Christians, we represent Christ. Not our city, not our family, not our age, not even ourselves, but CHRIST. And honestly, I don’t think Jesus would be strutting his stuff at the beach or mall. It’s not about the outward. It’s about the inward.

I truly understand that you want everyone to see your tan legs, but girl, you are not getting the attention you deserve. Wearing shorts that cover less than half of your backside does not draw in the pure eye. You are royalty in the eyes of God. When you wear revealing clothing, you are cheapening yourself. You are not making yourself look more worthy of a man (if you’re single). You are simply telling yourself and others that your body is all that you have worth anything. And that is just not true. You are more than your curves. You are more than tan legs and tight clothing. You have a soul that has been purchased by the Savior of the world. He died on a cross to rid you of your selfishness and sinful ways. It’s time to stop living to please yourself or others.

If you are single, you are putting your BROTHER in sin’s way when you dress in a way to lure people’s attention in. If you have the mindset that other men/boys are your brothers (because in Christ, they are), then I truly don’t think you would ever dress selfishly again. Because that’s just downright gross. If you know they’re not Christians, why are wearing the wrong clothing around them anyways? Again, we represent Christ. Not ourselves.

It’s time to start taking God’s Word seriously & acting upon it. Our bodies are not our own so God, the owner of them, should be our personal fashion consultant, not the airbrushed models in the mall.

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body” {1 Cor. 6:19-20}

I am not my own. I have been God’s since the day I accepted Him as Savior. I am also, now, my husband’s.

Let’s just be honest. Men are visual beings. We all struggle with different things but it is a fact that most (not all) men struggle with some sort of lustful thinking. It makes me sick to think that my choice of clothing could possibly cause someone to stumble. But it’s true. As a follower of Jesus and a devote wife, I want to stay as far away as possible from giving off that vibe. We must be intentional about what we wear because we don’t know the condition of other people’s hearts. The Bible is clear that we must glorify God in all that we do, that includes how we dress. We are called to be submissive to our husbands so if we wear not-so-modest clothing out in public, that is saying to our husbands, “I care more about “looking good” and showing off than respecting you.”

It’s important to ask yourself a couple of questions while trying on clothes for the day… {and be encouraged, I have started asking myself these questions}

–Am I representing Christ WELL through this outfit?

–Would I be too embarrassed to wear this to church or in front of men in my family?

–If I saw someone else wearing this outfit, would I think she was a “skank” or “most definitely not a Christian”? Would I want my husband (or future husband) around someone dressed like this?

–Would my Christ-loving husband (or future husband) be proud to call me his virtuous wife in this outfit? {Proverbs 31: 10-12 look it up!}

–Would I let my daughter or future daughter out in this? Would I let my son or future son date someone dressed like this?

–Could I stand before God in this get-up?

Maybe  you need to write a couple of these on your mirror or ask your bffs in Christ to hold you accountable. Summer is right around the corner and it is a PERFECT opportunity to choose God’s way. You won’t regret it. You may not get all the attention but is that what Jesus calls us to, a life of “look at me!”? No! He calls us to a life of “look at HIM!” I want my life to be a living sacrifice to God. Even if that means throwing away my high school shorts & tank tops.

He is worth it, sister! He is worth it.

Here are a few ideas for this summer’s wardrobe! I hope this encourages & equips you! Enjoy! xoxo

20140429-101651.jpg

20140429-092526.jpg20140429-093341.jpg

20140429-101656.jpg

I hope these give you some great ideas! Rep Christ well, girlfriend!  

-Katie

 

6 thoughts on “Is modest really hottest?

  1. Loved reading this… preach it sister!!
    The “Our bodies are not our own so God, the owner of them, should be our personal fashion consultant, not the airbrushed models in the mall.” is SO well written.
    Modesty may not be a hot topic, but it’s incredibly important.
    Have you watched Jessica Rey’s talk on modesty?

    It’s awesome!

  2. Girlfriend, I am loving this!! What a great, helpful reminder that we are a representation of God’s design. I went on a Beach Reach mission trip to Padre Island during college and it really opened my eyes to the struggles our brothers face with visual temptation. As women, we have an amazing opportunity to help our brothers protect their hearts through the way we dress our bodies. And seeing it from the viewpoint of a married woman is an eye opener. I definitely want to put even more thought and consideration into my wardrobe; there are parts of me that only my husband should have the pleasure of seeing.

    • So happy that this touched your heart 🙂 I love your insight & it’s amazing what God shows ya after getting married! You’re gonna need a journal for everything! Haha
      Blessings girl
      Hope everything is well with you!

  3. God has been opening my eyes to this topic lately, as well! I definitely didn’t even think about it before being married, but now three years in, I wonder how I missed this before. Now that God has opened my heart to dressing modestly, I LOVE it. It makes me so happy to recognize that the way I dress not only makes me feel more comfortable (and actually more feminine,) but I feel as if my relationship with the Lord strengthens and I can more easily walk with Him throughout my day.

    Katie, I can tell you have a REAL heart for Jesus. I guarantee you are so special to him 🙂 Thanks for sharing this truth with us!!!
    -JG

Reply to what ya think..

