Bad Day Remedies

5bc4a5f72507974060ab3ed6f35b02c3

we all have bad days. It happens. Sometimes we just wake up on the wrong side of the bread {thanks phil from rugrats} and we feel as if we should just go back to sleep. today, for me, was one of those days. nothing has been going right. I feel like it can’t get any worse or better for that matter

 but..

it is the intentional choices we make that can turn a bad day into one of our best days

normally, I wake up and take my dog out then get a cup of joe brewing after kissing my joe off to work. then I sit down and spend some time with God.

this morning, everything was backwards. I’ve already cried three times & I haven’t said one word to my bff Jesus.

maybe you’re right there with me.

but guess what?

your terrible-awful-ugly-sad-no good-dirty-rotten day can turn around in an instant!

it’s your choice.

because here in the us of a, we don’t lack. we have options. in third world countries, wives don’t have the opportunity to sit on facebook or their website for four hours writing about their “currents”. they hardly have time to get clean water to their family if that even exists.

having a “bigger picture” mindset has the power to change our “tiny selfish” mindset

trust me, i’m not one to say to someone struggling, “well, it could be worse”. because, honestly, does that make your issue any better? 99% no.

but if we take some time and think, things can change.

here are a few things that help me “get happy” when I am down or can’t shake off a bad morning turned bad day…

1. think about all the good things that have already happened today

20140604-153239.jpg

The Lord tells us that his mercies & compassion for us are new every morning! That is something to be thankful for! Without His mercy, we wouldn’t see another day.

2. Take a break and just breathe.

20140604-153233.jpg

If that means a coffee break, shut off all electronics & pour you some coffee {or scurry off to a coffee shop}. If that means calling up a family member or friend to watch the kids for an hour while you go for a walk or shop a little bit, do it. That’s why they’re your family. To help you out. You don’t have to do it all yourself. If that means staying off of social medias {facebook, twitter, pinterest, instagram, bloglovin’, ETC) then DO IT. YOU WONT REGRET IT. you, your brain, & your heart need a break.

3.  Get outside.

20140502-142215.jpg

A little fresh air goes a long way. Baske in the sun, go for a walk, stare up at the sky. It’ll lift your spirits by seeing all that God has beautifully created. just like he beautifully created you!

4. Be thankful.

20140604-153250.jpg

Even if you have to physically speak or write all that you are thankful for, do it. Sometimes my brain can be so overwhelmed with what I don’t have or can’t do or blah blah blah. That’s not joy. That’s self torment. Speak over those lies & be thankful for everything that God has given you. He has given you LIFE. What more is there?

5. Pray to God.

20140604-153245.jpg

Praying to God is therapy. It calms me down, chills me out, and gives me rest. {after all the screaming, crying, and whining of course}. Jesus desires so badly for His children to speak with Him. After all, in Him and Him alone, we find peace, joy, & happiness. He can brighten any day! I mean He DID create days and happiness and brightness anyway. 🙂

Today, I have had a bad day. I have lost count of how many times I have cried, gotten angry, missed appointments, ruined things, forgotten things, been too unmotivated (lazy) to do housework… my list could go on. But I’m stopping it here.

Because guess what?

His mercies aren’t just new every morning. His mercies are new every second. And He is here with me in my mess. And he is there with you in your messy bad day.

Focus on the good, take a break, get outside, be thankful, & pray to your loving Father who can turn any day into a glorious one!

20140604-153255.jpg

Smile. You are alive through Christ!

-Katie

 

 

top pic {via}

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Bad Day Remedies

  1. “Having a “bigger picture” mindset has the power to change our “tiny selfish” mindset”. Amen! Sometimes all it takes is a little perspective to remind us of how we blessed we are compared to so many other people in the world who are less fortunate, no matter how bad our day is. Going outside and spending some time alone with God and in His Word always helps me turn my day around!

    • Isn’t it so therapeutic?? It’s amazing! I love being outside in His nature. It’s so peaceful. We have a nest on our front porch where a mama bird just had babies! Love seeing life created by God. Makes any bad day brighter 🙂

  2. I love the quote at the top! It is so true, God plans so much bigger than one day. His plans far exceed my one day. Thank you for putting everything into perceptive! Sometimes it takes a bad day every once in a while to help straighten out the path God put us on.

Reply to what ya think..

