Summer Bible Study: Romans // CHAPTER 3

It’s that time again!! Before we get started…

Hey friends! I feel as if I haven’t been able to catch a break this week. Father’s Day weekend, my mom was admitted into the hospital the day that both families were supposed to come to visit us and have a cookout for Joe’s birthday. Joe’s family was still able to come and visit which was great! Still, we ended up traveling back to our hometown on Father’s Day to see my mom & help with my family while she was sick. Thankfully, she is doing lots better & is back at home, continuing to heal! Praise God! Yesterday was my sweet husband’s birthday. I surprised him with tickets to the Atlanta Braves v. Phillies baseball game! It was a blast. It was such a relaxing and sweet time together. Unfortunately, I have let these things get in the way of my time studying Romans as much as I wanted to or normally do. But, I am trusting that in my weakness, God will work in a mighty way!

How has your bible study been? Creating time throughout the day to dig in? Have you been asking God to reveal Himself to you? He is so very faithful to reveal Himself to us when we read His Word because He yearns to be in intimate communion with His children! I encourage you to keep pressing on, keep praying, keep studying, keep seeking God.

20140619-161350.jpg

Let’s jump right in…

////////////

{{Chapter Three}}  verses 1-4

What is this passage saying?

Paul starts out by explaining to his readers that the Jewish nation has special benefits {old testament times} like possessing the oracles of God. This privilege of old carries heavy responsibility to live a life pleasing to God. Paul encourages his readers right off the bat that even if someone doesn’t believe God’s words doesn’t cancel out the faithfulness of God. God is not dependent on man’s opinions. His words are always truth no matter what. This is encouraging yet challenging since our culture says that we can act & think however we think is right or correct.

How can I practically apply these truths to my life?

What culture doesn’t let us in on is that when we live in such a way that pleases us and us alone, it ultimately leads to destruction. “For all that is in the world–the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life–is not of the Father but is of the world. And the world is passing away…” This is from 1 John 2:15-17. BUT, John goes on to say that “he who does the will of God abides forever.” {17b} God has given us His Word for a reason. We are commanded to share His love, His truth, & His life with others. Is there someone in your life whether it be a family member, a friend, a neighbor, or a coworker who you can share this Truth with? Get in contact with them this week. Call them up, pray for them, and even plan a time to get together if that’s possible. All throughout scripture, the Jewish nation has been given faithfulness, grace, & special blessing. Today through Jesus, God gives, without measure, the same blessings. Share them with someone!

///

verses 5-7

What is this passage saying?

At the end of verse 3, Paul states, “What then? If some did not believe, will their unbelief cancel God’s faithfulness?” I love that. No matter how unfaithful I am to God, He will never be unfaithful to me. It’s a grace-filled promise that I hold on to. We must be careful, though, not to take His faithfulness for granted. Like Paul goes on to explain through verse 8, we should never use our short comings as excuses. God’s truth will not increase through our lies or evil ways. {v.7-8}

How can I practically apply these truths to my life?

When we focus our words around Christ & His righteousness, we will stay away from such unfruitful speech. We must be intentional about speaking to others in love and in God’s truth.

///

verses 9-26

What is this passage saying?

The law does not save. Paul tells us that both Jew and Greek are under sin. So, although the Jews had this special ordinances and laws from God, it wasn’t their salvation. No one in and of themselves is righteous. All have sinned. There is no fear of God before the eyes of those who live and thrive in sin. We know that we are guilty of sin because of the law of God. It reveals to us our sinfulness. There is only one way to be righteous. Righteous being blameless in the sight of God. And that is through the One who has been and always will be blameless, Jesus Christ the Son of God. Through faith in Him, we are deemed righteous. This pretty much rocked the Jewish people’s worlds. They were so used to striving to simply be good enough. Their reputation and outward appearance was squeaky clean but their heart, their soul was dead and dry.

Do not be discouraged. There is good news. Praise God that He doesn’t leave us in our sinfulness….

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. They are justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus. God presented Him as a propitiation through faith in His blood, to demonstrate His righteousness, because in His restraint God passed over the sins previously committed. God presented Him to demonstrate His righteousness at the present time, so that He would be righteous and declare righteous the one who has faith in Jesus.” {v.23-26}

How can I practically apply these truths to my life?

  If you can relate to the Jews who strive and strive and work and work hard as they can to please God but always fall short, let me encourage you to let go. Christ died to set you free from living a mechanical life simply going through the motions. If you haven’t asked God to cleanse you of your sin, do it now. “Then, go and sin no more” {John 8:11} It starts with giving yourself over to Jesus. Realize that you can look perfect and do everything by the book and even LOOK like a Christian yet be dead inside if you haven’t humbled yourself before the Lord and asked for forgiveness. God is faithful to forgive you of your sins. You don’t have to keep pretending. “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” -1 John 1:9

If you follow Christ, be encouraged to push even deeper into your relationship with God. You can never be too close to Him. This walk with Christ isn’t about only doing good deeds. If we spend all of our days doing good deeds yet neglect our relationship, we are missing out on fellowship with our Father. Take some time out of each day to simply sit in silence in the presence of God. His Word says that if we draw near to God, He will draw near to us. {James 4:8} So often we take on the “Martha” role in life, hurrying through our busy days even doing good yet forget to take time to be like Mary and sit at the feet of Jesus, listening intently to every life-giving word. It’s not about works, it’s about faith in Jesus.

///

verses 27-31

What is this passage saying?

 Paul is no dummy when it comes to works and righteousness. He knows all too well that when we, mankind, focus on what WE DO– we get a big head. We boast in how well we do things. We boast in how smart we are or righteous we are. We forget that all wisdom and every good gift is from God.

Therefore we conclude that a man is justified by faith apart from the deeds of the law.” {v.28} Justified means to be in right standing with God. This standing can never be earned. It is a free gift from God. {Romans 6:23}

It is through faith in Jesus Christ alone that you are right before God. That goes for every Jew, every Gentile, every Greek, every American, every human on earth.

How can I practically apply this to my life?

Take some time right now to thank God for The Way to Him. That is, Jesus and faith in Him. The cross. I think about the way my life used to be before I accepted Jesus and starting walking with Him in faith. Back then, at times, I was trying my hardest to work my way into heaven. I was living like the law could make me righteous. I was dead inside. I was working to please God and I would fail every. single time. At other times, I was living so selfishly for myself, indulging in whatever I thought was right and whatever felt good to me. I thank God that in His unconditional love & grace for me, He saved me.

He stretched out His hand and in faith, I took hold of it. In faith, I believe that Jesus Christ was the one and only perfect sacrifice needed to please God, to look over my sin–to take it away! In faith, I walk with Him daily. In faith, I believe that He has a plan for me. In faith, I trust that whatever we walk through, His hand will never slip away. In faith, I wait. I wait for the day that my faith will be my sight!

He is faithful. You can trust Him.

Whattya say?

His hand is stretched out for you!

How did God speak to you while reading chapter three? I want to hear what you are learning!

-Katie

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Bible Study: Romans // CHAPTER 3

  1. I love the way you take a section of text and explain it and then apply it! I really need to focus on sitting quietly and listen to God rather than talk. I am asking Him to quiet my mind so that I can focus on Him. I’m glad to hear that your mom is feeling better and that baseball game sounded like so much fun!

  2. I’m sorry I don’t have much to say this week. It’s been a total chaos with a flight waiting Saturday morning, my dad in need of another surgery (this time his prostate and hopefully they can remove as much cancer as possible), hubby’s crazy work schedule and my daughter going completely down emotionally (had to call in her therapist and got some meds from doctor… but really, I’m so down right now that I can’t handle it and need to raise my own meds dosage now…).
    Anyways, I just love and need to cling on to exactly this: We are saved by faith and not by good works. If good works were the way then I would currently be heading downwards faster than a Ferrari hits 100! Praise the Lord for being faithful in times of crazy trouble when I can’t for the life of me master any good works. But oh how I long to get closer to Jesus and know Him better and stand firmly on Him and His promises. I pray that I will rest with His peace in my heart.
    Thanks for doing this study. I will be in Denmark the next 5 weeks so not sure how much time I’ll have to post, but I will be reading.

Reply to what ya think..

