Coffee Break // strength & light

David’s collections in Psalm has really been changing my heart. God’s Word has the power to do that if we let it. I am in Psalm 50-something but I love going back and sharing with you a few words that are so deeply inspiring & moving. Today’s Coffee Break Pick Me Up is from Psalm 18. I encourage you to read it in whole. I’m just going to share bits & pieces of this beautiful psalm…

—-

“I will love you, O Lord, my strength.

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer

My God, my strength, in whom I will trust;

My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised…”

oh, this could be the cry of my heart for the rest of my days… If it wasn’t for the Lord & the strength He daily gives to me, I wouldn’t be here. How grateful should our hearts be that He is able to be our Rock, our Fortress, & our Deliverer! {v 1-3a}

//

“He also brought me out into a broad place;

He delivered me because He delighted in me.”

I am so guilty of believing the lie that God does not delight in me. Sometimes I feel like I am just a bother & one of his children who get on his nerves. But he is not like a normal parent. His love for us is more than we can even imagine. He rescues us, helps us, teaches us, & loves us because He delights in us! Do you believe that God delights in you? Because He does! {v19}

//

“For You will light my lamp;

The Lord my God will enlighten my darkness.

For by You I can run against a troop,

By my God I can leap over a wall.

As for God, His way is perfect;

The word of the Lord is proven;

He is a shield to all who trust in Him.”

I cannot put into words how thankful and humbled I am that the Lord lights up my darkness. In my self is no good thing. Jesus is the only light in me. And we can trust that God will always be willing to light our lamps. We don’t have to worry about being good enough. Another thing that just brings me to my knees in gratitude is the fact that by my God, I can leap over a wall. Is there a big wall you’re facing right now that you feel you will never overcome? By God & His mighty strength, anything is possible! We can trust these words of security and truth because the word of the Lord is proven. David can testify that God can be trusted even when thousands oppose us. Even when that wall seems too high. God is our shield. {v 28-30}

//

“Therefore, I will give thanks to You, O Lord, among the Gentiles,

and sing praises to Your name.”

This verse is such a great reminder to me that my response to God should always be thanks and praise because He is so good to me. I should be willing to praise Him even around people who do not know Him. I should never be ashamed of my God. He helps me, gives me strength, leads me, protects me, makes the impossible possible, & is my shield. {v 49}

Thank Him for being all that you need.

He is enough!

20140610-102557.jpg

-Katie

Reply to what ya think..

