Summer Bible Study: Romans // EIGHT

I’m no biblical scholar but Romans chapter 8 ROCKS. We could camp in this one chapter for months! If you haven’t read it yet, please do now. You are in for an epic encounter with God. Chapter Eight is packed full of truth, encouragement, conviction, hope in the here & now, and hope for the future. Romans 8 is my top 3 favorite parts in the Bible. Paul must have been feelin’ it when he was writing this. I could just see him now, jumping up & down in his chair, arms tingling with the excitement that the Holy Spirit of God was hovering over him powerfully, speaking proclaiming truth right. through. him.

This week’s review and outline is going to be a little different because there is just so many specific verses that I don’t want to pass up. Next week, we will return to our normal outline. And remember, if you haven’t read chapter eight yet, look it up & read before you continue reading on here!

//////

26c32599a08f76421ecb782e570e31f4

Paul starts chapter eight off powerfully. These two first verses has given me assurance, hope, security, & encouragement in the very hard times in my life. I constantly go back to it when I am feeling less than worthy of Jesus’ love.

“Therefore, no condemnation now exists for those in Christ Jesus, because the Spirit’s law of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death.” Romans 8:1-2 hcsb

So anytime you feel inadequate, guilty, condemned, down and out because of your sinfulness, remember that there is no condemnation for those in Christ Jesus. Period. Jesus will never condemn His children, ever. Of course Jesus wants us to repent of sin that we have committed after becoming a new creation in Him because it causes separation in your relationship with Him but it is not Jesus who is whispering those guilt-ridden words in your ear. Tell satan to go back to hell where he belongs because YOU are holy & blameless & LOVED in the sight of God Almighty! God looks at you and sees His perfect spotless son’s blood covering your soul. You are His. You are not condemned.

This was hard for me to truly believe. Because I feel like I have messed up so much in my life, I used to feel so unworthy of God’s love. And at times, still do. But His love for us has never been & never will be based on how “good” or “bad” we are. His acceptance of us is based solely on whether or not we have trusted in Jesus as our Savior and have given our lives completely to Him, mess & all. Like the Bible states in verses 3-4, Jesus alone fulfilled the law by giving up His life as a ransom for you and me. We can’t do that. No one but perfect Jesus could have ever done that. “For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh, that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.”  Jesus does what we can’t do and when we walk life with Him, when He becomes our life, there is no condemnation for us. Only freedom!

 I have dealt with my fair share of insecurity. What I am learning is that my insecurity stems from my lack of trust in God. I am too focused on condemning myself that I fail to see that Jesus doesn’t do that to me. He LOVES me, all of me, and I shouldn’t worry one more minute trying to please Him or “getting Him to love me”. Jesus is my Savior & my life & that is all that matters. When we TRULY trust Him, we have freedom. We have freedom from those feelings of condemnation and guilt.

 ////

59fa45242050a65751078ee99ca58120

“For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace. So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God.” Romans 8:5,6,8 nkjv

Those who live according to the flesh are people who do not know Jesus as Savior. Therefore, they can only set their minds on things of the flesh because that is all they are. Those who live according to the Spirit are God’s children, the ones who claim Christ as their life & Savior.

This is a convicting verse for me because it is easy for those who live according to the Spirit to set their minds on earthly things. These things ought not to be but they are sometimes true because we are not perfect. It’s so easy to focus on this temporary life because that’s where we are, in the here & now. But Jesus says that we should be setting our minds on things above, where He is, not on things of this world which are sinful & passing away. “If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” Colossians 3:1-3

Forget success, forget riches, forget your selfish ambitions & dreams, forget all of that. Set your mind on showing Jesus to others, storing up riches in Heaven, seeking His perfect will for your life which is to glorify HIM in all that you do, & live your life for Jesus. Not yourself.

This isn’t popular. This doesn’t appeal to our senses. In a world that screams, “live your life for YOU!”, this sounds awful. Not a lot of people like to hear this. After taking away the glitter of this world, some think there is no point or happiness. Some say that God wants us to be happy and they use that as an excuse to do whatever they want in this life. But JESUS tells us that we are dead to this world (col. 3:3; rom 8:10; rom 6:4; rom 6:11; gal. 5:24; col. 2:20). Our selves are dead and the only thing living in us is Jesus Himself.

“For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” Colossians 3:3  my life verse!

It’s not about you. It’s not about me. We are called to pick up our crosses and follow Jesus. Follow Him because He will lead you straight into a place where your wildest dreams couldn’t imagine. There is fullness of joy in the presence of the Lord!

These next few verses in Romans 8 are along the same lines. Check out Rom. 8:10-11

/////

$fgfg

“For I consider that the sufferings of this present time do not compare with the glory which shall be revealed to us.” Romans 8:18

Jesus followers, we are children of God. “If children, then heirs— heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified” (v.16)

Following Jesus means following Him into the hard places. The scary places. The places of persecution and trial. God never promised His children an easy life here on earth. In fact, the most bold & known Christians have died for Christ. Martyrs for the faith. Paul had his fair share & then some of persecution & hardship. And eventually, he died a brutal death for His beloved Lord Jesus.

And even in the pain, the torture, the prison, & the confusion, He exclaimed, “THESE SUFFERINGS DO NOT COMPARE TO THE GLORY AWAITING ME IN HEAVEN WITH MY JESUS!” His mind was set on above. His eyes were set on Jesus.

My heart is so moved. How many times do I whine and complain throughout the day? More than I should, my husband can attest to that. Never once have I been thrown in prison for following Christ. I live in the land of the free. Oh, that my heart would be softened to this. Open my eyes, Jesus. Give me the boldness I need. Help me to never take this freedom in America for granted. And be with your children who are suffering for Your name’s sake.

Will you join me in praying for your brothers and sisters around the world who are physically tortured for Christ? Once, maybe twice, have I been persecuted emotionally and verbally for following Christ and that was hard. I couldn’t imagine being physically persecuted. I pray that we will fall so in love with Jesus that we count all the pain as worth it, even if we are persecuted.

He sees your hurt and your pain. He is there with you through whatever you are dealing with…the cancer, the disease. He sees those kids at school looking down at you. He hears your husband speaking those painful words. He is with your child who has gone astray. He is with you as you feel alone. All of these things, He cares about. He is even speaking to God FOR YOU RIGHT NOW. {romans 8:26,27,34} And one day. Oh, one glad morning, that trumpet will sound and, praise God, we will fly away to the land where joy shall never end!!!! Keep your eyes on the prize, Jesus the king. It’s worth it. Keep pressing on. “All things work together for good to those who love God” -Romans 8:28a

///

e88e83f41f025134f0f72d4dabc96064

“What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?”

Romans 8:31

God. The God of the universe, the God of every created thing is for you. He is on your side, child. If God is for you, then who can be against you?

He is the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End, the start and the finish, the Perfect Lover & Sustainer, the King who reigns, the One who gives life & death. No one is above Him. And He loves you.

Stop & read Romans 8:31-39. Slowly & even a few times. What a beautiful passage of God’s forever love, His protection, & the confidence we can have in Jesus.

NOTHING can separate us from the love of God! Nothing, nothing, nothing. What are you letting hold you back from His love? There is no condemnation in Christ Jesus therefore nothing can separate us from His love!!! You can try to run from Him, but where will you go? No height, no depth, nor any created thing shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. {rom. 8:39}

You are loved

-Katie

2 thoughts on “Summer Bible Study: Romans // EIGHT

  1. Romans 8:31 is my favorite verse in the Bible! I felt so uplifted and torn down in reading this chapter and that is what makes it wonderful. It starts out saying trust in Him, don’t be of this world but then it ends so perfectly and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside that I have a wonderful God on my side and will never leave me. Amen!

Reply to what ya think..

