Friday Faves!

ohheyfridaybebas_zps27b8c812 H54Fbutton_zps973d26e11 Friday-Favorites

Today I’m linking up with some fellow blogging girls for everyone’s favorite day of the week. This week has been my kind of week. We were at the beach the first two days, taught youth group Wednesday, got a ton of housework in, & enjoyed a late night swim party with that same fun youth group from Wednesday. I’m blessed.

1. We fell in love at the ocean…

20140801-092348-33828155.jpg

The hubs took me to the ocean for our one year anniversary and needless to say, we totally fell in love all over again. With each other and also with the sea, deep and wide. I honestly could walk along the shore for days upon days or let the waves carry me away for hours. It’s amazing. We felt God’s presence all around as we gazed out at the vast ocean that He created and still controls to this very minute. We stayed in a villa on Hilton Head Island and we almost didn’t come back. One morning we woke up at 4:30 am to bike along the shore and watch the sun rise. There were no words to describe how perfect. Gets me pumped for Heaven. Every time I travel to the sea, I leave a little bit of my heart there.

2. I did the deed…

cbcb5e16d8c4f0507292802b68ea5b32

I cleaned out my fridge for the first time in a year. Seriously, you probably think I am joking. Or you think I am a genius because you haven’t cleaned yours out in a year, oh I hope so. My obsessive love for cleaning washed over me as I was scrubbing and organizing. Needless to say, the hubs came home to a bleach-drenched clean house. Wifey for the win. It’s been interesting learning as a new wife and home-owner what needs to be cleaned daily, weekly, and monthly. A year in and I’m finally wrapping my brain around it. Although the thing never stays clean. And we don’t even have kids yet. How does this happen?

3. What I think about you, August…

57b697e69a7bde82e88ba1b6814f04cf

For the month of August, my husband and I aren’t spending any money. Like none. Except of course on gas and a few groceries. This was his idea although I had just finished reading Jen’s book 7 which means it should have been my idea. This whole idea of less is more is really convicting but challenging and I am a sucker for a good challenge. Although my husband will have to pry my greedy little fingers off of Starbuck’s front door, I believe I can do this. I have a few reasons. One- we are going to Haiti on a mission trip in October and every time I think of those Haitian faces, my desire for more of anything, really, ceases. They, like millions around the world, have no excess like I do. Yet they are content. I want that. I desire for joy and contentment without any material possessions. Two- I’m tired of spending money. You see, fashion and I have a reckless relationship. I am drawn to fun fashion but I die a little inside each time I hand over my debit card. Three- I like change and this will definitely be change.  Four– God has called me to be a good steward of our money and although I have only been on one big shopping spree this year, I can always do better. Starbucks adds up.

4. I got stacks…

20140801-093240-34360181.jpg

And by that, I mean I have a stack of books on my desk getting taller than me and I so wish I had time to sit and read all of them. Have you read any of them? I want to know how they are! I have read half of a lot of them and haven’t gotten around to finishing because I’m a faithful book reader like that. This is my second time with Whispers of Hope.. it’s a must read/do.

5. One of my favorite beachy things…

20140801-092346-33826955.jpg

about this week was seeing all of the marine life at the beach over the long weekend trip my husband and I took. It was amazing!

We saw two sharks swimming along the shore at the harbor. They accidentally got too close to shore and were splashing around like crazy trying to get off the sand. I snapped a few action shots. We watched families upon families of dolphins frolicking in the ocean right in front of us outside of our villa. They were beautiful. I also got to snap pictures of a sting ray that a fisherman caught one early morning. And last but not least… we got stung by jellyfish. Thankfully, my 6’4″ husband was stung by a baby one and the huge papa jelly came at me like a raging bull. I thought I was getting attacked by both a shark and a lightning bolt. Six days later, I still have the battle scar to prove it. And of course, I got stung the next day again. My legs now look like they survived a war. Cute little squishies, yeah right.

20140801-092346-33826281.jpg

And that’s my week in a nutshell. Did anyone else have an awesome week?

You are loved 🙂

Katie

Linking up with Amanda, The Farmer’s Wife, & Lauren!

6 thoughts on “Friday Faves!

  1. I recently finished 7 and loved it! I’ve been living a simple, somewhat minimalist life for a few years now and it was all for my benefit. After reading 7, I felt a smack up alongside the head because I’m not using it to benefit Him. I’m working on transforming my thinking to create more space for Him. I loved that idea in the book.

    Speaking of challenges, I’m diving into the Minimalist Game in September. Thought I would share with you since you are a challenge junkie like me! http://www.theminimalists.com/game/

    What a beautiful week you had! The perfect way to sail into August.

    • That book totally kicked my rear end as well!!! I loved it.

      And I will most definitely check out that challenge, thank you!! 🙂 I can’t wait!

      Hope you have an even more beautiful weekend, my friend! Blessings to you girl! 🙂

      xo
      Katie

  2. It sounds like you had a great time at the beach. Beth Moore’s Get Out of That Pit = my fave! The Meaning of Marriage is great, but I always end up putting Tim Keller books down a few chapters in. Someday I’ll finish one.

    • I can’t wait to read Get Out Of That Pit now, thanks for the feedback about it! 🙂
      Tim Keller is pretty intense but I can’t wait to read another marriage book since it has been since before my husband and I got married!

Reply to what ya think..

