Let’s Chat Over Coffee! {highs + lows}

@!

Hey love! How are YOU doing? If you’re like me, you are so thrilled that Friday finally made it’s appearance. This week has been something of a whirlwind & I am so excited to spend the weekend unwinding and relaxing. Today, I’m linking up with Jenna & Jenna for another edition of Coffee Date. There is nothing quite like pouring your heart out over a big warm mug full of creamy coffee goodness. How I wish I could meet up with you & we could do just that. Over the past year, I have learned how important community is. It knits hearts together, creates lasting and strong friendships, & gives us enough refreshment and encouragement to keep running the race.

If we were talking over coffee right now, here are a few things I would let you in on. I would get super excited about most but then I would ask for your prayers in some.

– Highlights of the week –

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

– I started my new job as a nanny! This is the major highlight of the week. God has been so faithful in this. It happened so quickly & I couldn’t have been more blessed with the two precious girls that I am watching over. They are hilarious & such sweet gifts from God.

photo 4 (3)

– Our Home Reno is up & running again. my hubs & I finally mustered up enough motivation & help to completely destroy the Jumanji jungle {miss you, Robin} that was growing in front of our house {the shrubs were going wild}. The boys pulled all of those bushes and trees up so we now have a clean palette to start over. The next items on our Home Reno list are fix all of the puppy damage to the doorways {thanks penny} & my favorite… paint the front door teal! I have been dreaming about turning our little front porch space into a welcoming morning area but haven’t had the motivation to actually put those dreams into action until this week. I’m excited to post before & after pictures!

photo 2 (5)

– My husband and I have spent a lot of time in the kitchen lately. We whipped up his mom’s special lasagna one night, my grandma’s amazing chicken casserole another night, & even made a few sweet treats over the weekend. I love making our family’s homemade meals because it makes me feel like we aren’t that far away. My grandma, aka the BEST cook in the entire universe, created a recipe book for me with all of her special homemade goodies & gave it to us at our wedding shower last year. I cried. She cried. My mom cried. It was my most favorite gift ever & I will always cherish it!

photo 3 (6)

-Speaking of community, my husband and I got to spend some time with one of my closest friends and her husband one night. Nick created this awesome life-size Jenga game & it was definitely a hit. I love spending time with other Jesus followers, always such a sweet time of refreshment.

Today, we are heading to our hometown to spend time with our families! That makes a hard week a little better.

Speaking of hard things, here are a few of the lowlights that have gone on this past week:

ea3947d48b7d10a4d878d48da04c33bc

-I can’t share the entirety of this situation but something came up this week that has completely shaken me. It’s one of things that begs the question, “God, what in the world are you doing???” It’s one of those things that makes you sick to your stomach because you don’t want to deal with it. It’s one of those things that makes you want to crawl into your little bubble of comfort and never come out again. It’s also one of those things that God may be using to stretch me, to put my faith to the test, to really break me down. This quote above has been a huge help to me as I deal with this situation. My fears are before me & I’m having to make the decision on if I will give in to them & let the fears control me OR step out in faith, complete faith even though I don’t know what to do but trust God. It’s hard following Jesus. But He never said it would be. I’ve had to ask myself, “is he worth it to you?” if He is, then I must keep walking. even if I am completely in the dark.

995bde9953b24b15fc9f75249000f9b6

– on a lighter note, I forgot to do all the laundry this week because I have been so distraught with the above situation. That created a problem when my husband got up this morning to go to work. No clean work shirts or socks. Another obstacle to jump over without tripping and falling flat on my face: feeling like a failure as a wife. Praying for God’s grace to cover me.

That’s a serious coffee date, friends. I hope you were encouragement somehow by my transparency & God’s grace in my life lately.

How can you relate?

you are loved!

Katie

14 thoughts on “Let’s Chat Over Coffee! {highs + lows}

  1. Hi Katie! I’m in the process of buying my first house by the grace of God. Pretty soon, I’ll be going through my own home reno process and can’t wait to make this place my home. Pinterest has become such a source of inspiration!! 🙂 But most of all, I know it’s going to be lessons learned on how God makes our heart His home and I can’t wait for that. I’m sorry to hear about that event that rocked you. I pray that it will pass. Those times are not easy but Jesus offers comfort when He says, take heart for I’ve overcome the world. I believe by the power of the Holy Spirit, you will overcome this as well. Thanks for stopping by my corner of the blogsphere…hope to see you there again 🙂

    Liv
    livmigenes.blogspot.com

    • Oh!! Congrats on your first home.. It’s SUCH a fun yet challenging thing, owning your own home but it’s yours! And before moving into our home, I always said that I wanted our home to be a welcoming place where God dwelt. You’re spot on when you say that that can happen only when He dwells within us! Love those thoughts. Thank you for your prayers. Love this blogging community of prayer warriors 🙂 thanks for stopping by! I so look forward to following your journey!

  2. I just love your blog and more importantly, you’re beautiful heart behind the blog 🙂 First things first, praying for you right now, I’ve been in those times and seasons more than I would’ve chosen, but God in His sovereignty is always faithful to draw me close and bring richness and beauty from ashes, praying the same for you 🙂 And in other news: Lifesize Jenga sounds like the radest thing ever and please please post pics of your teal door, I’ve been toying with doing the same thing. 🙂

  3. Love you beautiful friend! Can’t believe we made the highlights of the week! 🙂 by the way I love this way of kinda telling a short and sweet layout of your past week, I think this might just be my kind of thing! Have a wonderful Saturday. Cannot wait for our double date tomorrow!

  4. I am so glad you are enjoying your new job and cooking up a storm it sounds like! I am praying for you about your lows and that quote is really helping me out too at the moment! Sending you some happiness and the courage to keep going!:)

    • Thanks, Jenna! It was a week that when I look back at it, grew me closer to my husband and closer to God! And that’s something to be thankful for! 🙂

      Thanks, again, for creating this community. It truly is an amazing source of encouragement & connection.

      Xoxo blessings!

      Katie

Reply to what ya think..

