Must Haves for Newlyweds – Kitchen Edition

Hey there, friend! I’m so glad that you have decided to drop by Hot Tea and the Empty Seat today. I hope your Tuesday is off to a great start!

 My husband and I have been married for a little over a year now & I thought it would be fun to share a few of our favorite things around our home that we use everyday. Today is going to be all about the kitchen. Before getting married, I didn’t think much about kitchens or cooking. Honestly, everyone was pretty sure that I wouldn’t be able to cook. Surprisingly, our kitchen has become one of my favorite places to be & I just adore creating home cooked meals for my husband. Whether you have been married for years or are awaiting that big day, enjoy a few of our “must haves” for the kitchen! These items have been life savers for us as newlyweds! Enjoy…

 

 

 

newlywed must haves- kitchen edition

 

 

1} I can’t tell you how often we use these hard plastic mixing bowl set. They are versatile and are super easy to clean which is why I love them so. It also makes cooking a little brighter with all of the fun colors. Our favorite recipe to use these with is our banana chocolate chip pancakes which will be making it’s appearance soon enough… stay tuned 😉

2} An electric can opener. We don’t use canned foods very often but when we do, I personally can’t imagine being without this bad boy. Manual can-openers, as wimpy as it sounds, are a pain to use. This one is easy to store in your cabinets & easy to clean… just wipe it off after use. My kind of work!

3} I love my teal Fiesta ware but there is something about simple plastic plates. We have about six teal & coral ones from Target along with our sturdy ceramic plates. They are super cheap, easy to clean off, & can fit better in the dishwasher than the bulky stuff. They are perfect for little ones since they don’t break if you drop then. Also, places like Target have the cutest designs perfect for each season you find yourself in which is a great little accent to your dinner table.

4} Go big on your eating utensils. My husband and I were gifted a great set of good quality Food Network forks, spoons, & knives. Nothing is worse than dull knives and forks that melt in your dishwasher. Plus, you are going to use these every single day so I would definitely splurge.

5} Ah, my favorite items in the whole kitchen: our coffee mugs. There is just something romantic about matching coffee cups. I may be crazy. My husband and I have a tradition of buying a new coffee mug in every new state or country we visit so it’s safe to say that our cabinets are filling up quickly. I highly recommend buying mugs that are dishwasher safe. Coffee mugs are just a fun thing to have around the house. They have become a staple for us every early morning and they have created many sweet talks and devotion times with each other & God. I think coffee just draws people together. You can find out favorite here! {it has our pictures on it!}

6} I love our set of glass containers. Ours have  little cute chalkboard fronts on them so I have “pasta”, “sugar”, and “brown sugar” written on ours. They are so handy, so helpful, & can be a cute little decoration to your countertops. Sometimes when I am feeling silly, I will write things like “pour some sugar on me” on the containers. You may think that’s weird but it creates a laugh or two from my husband and our guests that stroll through our kitchen. Hey, cooking can be fun.

7} I cannot stress enough how IMPORTANT a good, solid cutting board is. In my own opinion, GET PLASTIC ONES… not bamboo ones! Although they may look classier, I made the mistake of cutting raw chicken on my bamboo cutting board and the smell lasted for weeks. I eventually had to throw it out. Which was sad because it was good quality but it just wasn’t for me at all. Plastic cutting boards are dishwasher safe {a huge plus for us} therefore I can rest knowing that there isn’t bacteria growing on them from raw foods. It’s smart to get multiples so that you can use certain ones for certain foods. I like these.

8} And last but certainly not least, good cookware. The cookware shown in the picture is the exact cookware we use. It was gifted to us by my dad & stepmom and I LOVE it. It’s Paula Deen’s Aqua Speckle 15-pc. Signature Porcelain Nonstick Cookware Set. I highly recommend getting non-stick cookware that isn’t stainless steel. This is, of course, simply my opinion. But, we had stainless steel and everything I cooked in it pretty much ruined the cookware. It stuck to the bottom & wouldn’t clean off. It also left water stains  Of course, it depends on the quality but you are better off getting porcelain over stainless steel simply because it’s dishwasher safe unlike stainless steel. The last thing I want to do is stand for an hour scrubbing the heck out of every thing I cooked with. Plus, you can get cute colors to match your kitchen. So, go for the non-stick & porcelain over the not-non-stick & stainless steel. You will thank me!

I hope you found a renewed love for all things kitchen & even have a few new ideas!

You are loved

Katie

Linking up with: Let’s Be Friends Blog Hop

BlogHopButtonFinal_southern

& Hump Day Happenings!

A savory Feast
6 thoughts on “Must Haves for Newlyweds – Kitchen Edition

  1. Wonderful suggestions! I actually use a manual can opener, but I would DEFINITELY recommend doing your research and buying a quality one! There’s nothing worse than trying to open a can and you can’t, or worse, you get it half way open before the can opener poops out on your. I also agree on quality silverware, because you WILL use it every day! My husband and I got our from Williams & Sonoma, and we love it.

    Thanks for sharing on Hump Day Happenings!

Reply to what ya think..

