When I Grow Up…

Yesterday’s Prompt over at The Blog-tember Challenge: “When I grow up, I want to be…”

IMG_6268

If you would have asked me this question when I was a kid, I would have confidently told you that I wanted to be a boxer/dentist. My dad was a boxer and my mom stayed at home so naturally I wanted to be the next Hilary Swank from Million Dollar Baby. I’m not sure why I wanted to be a dentist; I just always enjoyed looking in people’s mouths. Haha! At other times, I have wanted to be an archeologist ever since I purchased that fancy rock tumbler. In high school, I wanted to be teacher {only because they got summers off} and secretly, I have always wanted to simply be a stay at home mom. Nowadays, I can honestly say that I really don’t care about which career I end up in. Right now I am a nanny and I have my own photography business and I love it. I would love to always be doing new and different things that I truly enjoy. I’m blessed with a God who provides no matter what & with a husband who supports and works hard for our little family.

I do care about the person that I am molding in to.

And when I grow up, I want to be…

+ a wife who unconditionally loves and respects her husband, a wife who is faithful & trustworthy

+ a mother (one day, not soon) who loves her kids and maybe even adopts one day

+ a friend who is known to be unconditionally caring & selfless, one who will drop her to-do list to listen to a hurting heart anytime, anywhere

+ a servant; a servant of God who truly loves His people and serves them

+ Β most importantly, a woman of God.. A woman who is confident in who she is in Christ, who fears nothing, who laughs at the things to come. A woman of God who trusts and loves her Savior more than anything on earth.

No matter what I will be doing in this life, I want to be doing it all for God. I’m so thankful that I can start today, right now. God is molding and shaping me into these things that I wrote above. It’s hard at times. It hurts. But it’s worth it!

What do you want to be when you “grow up”? I would love to hear from you!

You are loved!

Katie

18kxf6

Also linking up with “Let your light shine Thursday“!

IMG_6270.PNG

6 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. I also find that “what I want to be when I grow up” does not really involve a specific career in my mind, but more of a certain kind of person. And I think that’s a perfectly legitimate answer. πŸ™‚

  2. what really resonated with me was “not too busy to drop my to-do list to listen to a hurting friend.”

    I am type A, so the “plan”, the “list”, it’s so hard for me to abandon. But I want to be the type of person that places the highest priority on love, not checking off my own to-do list when God wants to use me to love and support people with the love of Jesus!

Reply to what ya think..

